How I Can Help You
As 'head of distributed media' I collect, preserve, and make moving image media and sound recordings accessible at the Libraries Media Center. I also oversee operations for the Media Center, serve as the primary film and video selector for the Libraries, and liaise with the Museology Program. Sometimes I teach and write on topics related to ethnomusicology, archiving, and music/film criticism (see my CV for detail). Before coming to the UW I was Archivist at the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, a Junior Fellow at the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center, and a drummer for sundry sonic projects.
For students I can:
• Recommend and find films, videos, and music for your research and learning needs.
• Tell you about what services and audio/video resources the Libraries has to offer you.
• Meet with you to discuss research related to ethnomusicology, NW music, film, and archives.
For faculty I can:
• Introduce your students to the Libraries' audio/video/film collections and research tools/strategies via workshops.
• Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and audio/video/film materials into your class assignments.
• Recommend and acquire videos, music, and other sound recordings for your research and teaching needs.
• Work with you to publish and promote select student work on the Libraries website.
• Offer help with funding strategies and workflows for the preservation of cultural heritage materials.
• Speak with you about digitizing, preserving, and providing access to audio/video/film materials.
• Act as a liaison communicating your department's concerns and needs to library administration.
• Compile a discography or videography on a range of disciplines and topics.
For the public I can:
• Answer questions about the role the Libraries plays in preserving and providing access to NW music and film.
• Offer guidance on preserving and providing access to your audio/video/film collections.
• Answer questions you may have about our audio/video/film collections.
Library Guides
Subject and class guides created by me (often with the help of numerous iSchool students!) to help you attain your academic pursuits.
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
This guide provides links to and information about audio and video resources at the UW and beyond.
3,071 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
A unique collection of video documenting the UW Chamber Dance Dance Company's over 20 year history of performing modern dance classics.
876 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The Crocodile Café Collection contains over 3000 hours of live music recordings. Recorded at the Café between 2002 and 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by dozens of artists, notable and obscure.
297 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Looking for vintage 16mm moving image film? The Educational Media Collection (formerly held by UW Classroom Support Services) contains many rare and unique 16mm film titles.
555 views this year
- Last Updated Aug 11, 2011
The Winners of the SIS 202 Media Center Film Paper Competition.
252 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
Online syllabus and guide to my class on ethnomusicology archiving and music from/around Seattle.
501 views this year
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
This guide helps you browse the Media Center's collections. Discover movies and music you never knew we had!
3,838 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
This page offers the top recommended starting points for research in Museology.
753 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Want to learn more about music of the Pacific NW? Then check out this guide on our Puget Sounds collection, which aims to document the kaleidoscopic nature of music performed and produced in Seattle and the Puget Sound region.
649 views this year
Head, Distributed Media |
Contact Info UW Libraries Media Center Suzzallo Library - Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 (206) 616-1210 Send Email |
The "What I Do" Video
More Help
- More ExpertsUW Subject Librarians
- Research ConsultationsMake an appointment with subject experts for personal in-depth help
- Ask Us!Get help by phone, online, via email or text message
- How Do I...?Watch short video tutorials on common library-related tasks and questions






Loading...
