This is the "Travel Grant" page of the "Korean Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Korean Studies  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/korea Print Guide

Travel Grant Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Travel Grant up to $1,500

Library Travel Grants to Use Manhwa Collection in University of Washington East Asia Library

 

The UW East Asia Library is pleased to offer travel grants to scholars outside Seattle/Tacoma area to conduct Korea-related research using Manhwa (Korean graphic novel) collection in the East Asia Library of the University of Washington.

The East Asia Library’s Manhwa collection consists of over 15,000 volumes in Korean. It is the most largest and comprehensive Manhwa collection in North America. The collection mainly has publications from 1980s thru early 2000s when Korean graphic novels were mostly in prints before moving to online format called webtoon. The collection has comprehensive works by famous cartoonists such as Yi Hyon-se, Pak Pong-song, Ko Haeng-sok, Yi Sang-mu and many others.

 

Nearly 900 individual titles are already cataloged and available from OCLC Worldcat database or UW Library catalog for descriptions on these books. The rest of uncataloged materials (approx. 600 titles) is available in excel document upon request.    

GRANT AMOUNT: Up to $1,500 to cover travel expense (air and lodging)

PRIORITY GIVEN TO APPLICANTS:

* who document how their research will benefit from access to Manhwa collection at UW and whose research will take advantage of our strengths

 
DEADLINES:

* Applications are being accepted. The due for application deadline is August 1, 2014.   

* A total of two awards will be made.
* Awards must be used and receipts submitted by December 31, 2014.
* Each recipient is required to submit a short summary of the research accomplished with the grant within 30 days upon completion of the travel.

TO APPLY:
Submit (email applications preferred) a brief description of your research topic, sources in the collection you plan to use, a brief curriculum vitae, and an estimated budget to Hyokyoung Yi, hkyi@uw.edu.  If you have any questions, please contact Hyokyoung Yi.

 

      

    Korean Studies Librarian / Head, EAL Public Services

    Profile Image
    Hyokyoung Yi
    Contact Info
    336 Gowen Hall
    East Asia Library
    phone: 206-543-6603
    hkyi@uw.edu
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip