Recommended Readings
This is the "Task Force G" page of the "SIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2013   Tags: international_studies  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/taskforce13 Print Guide

Task Force G Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Arctic Security in the 21st Century: Emerging Issues and Challenges

Nadine Fabbi & Joel Plouffe  TTh 9:30-11:20

Climate change is having a dramatic impact on the Arctic. The Arctic Ocean is vanishing rapidly with sea ice levels reaching their lowest point on record in 2012. Thawing ice, warmer temperatures and growing economic activities in the Arctic are creating new security issues that go beyond conventional notions of national (military) security and defense. ‘Arctic change’ challenges national and sub-national policymakers and actors to continue to widen the traditional approach to 'Arctic Security' and develop policies that correspond to emerging social, economic and environmental problems in the north. For students of international studies, the transformations taking place in Alaska, the Canadian Arctic territories and Inuit regions, and other Arctic nation-states, provides an opportunity to identify, assess, and challenge the meanings of 'Arctic Security' in the 21st century. The Task Force team, including Inuit participants from Canada, will have the opportunity to write a policy report presenting new approaches to security integrating international relations theories, security studies concepts and regional Inuit governance models. The dialogue between the Government of Québec and the Inuit of Nunavik in northern Québec, will provide a point of focus for these concepts. Students will travel to Québec City and Ottawa (Jan 26-Feb 3) to meet with Inuit leaders, government officials, industry, Arctic embassies, and leading scholars in Arctic security.

 

Search UW WorldCat for Books

UW WorldCat: Search UW Libraries and beyond What is UW WorldCat?


UW Worldcat is especially useful when you want to search as broadly as possible for a topic or when you are seeking a relatively rare item that isn't likely to be available at the UW. It also facilitates borrowing books from other libraries.


Tips for searching UW WorldCat for Books on the Arctic:

  • Try keyword searches using the geographic terms "Arctic regions" in combination with any of the following to get started:
    • Strategic aspects
    • Security
    • Natural resources
    • Climactic changes
    • Politics and governance
    • Foreign relations
    • Sovereignty
  • Use the Topic limit (one of the links along the left of your search results) to narrow the scope of your search to for ex. language.
  • Getting too many results? Don't want to wait for interlibrary loan? Try searching the UW-only Catalog for items *only* in our system.
  • See more info on UW WorldCat >>

Article Databases

  • Academic search complete  Icon
    Scholarly and general interest periodicals in all disciplines. Includes some full-text.
  • Arctic and Antarctic Regions  Icon
    Citations plus abstracts for thousands of articles dealing with cold regions.
  • Aquatic Science Collection  Icon
    International database with extensive polar regions coverage. 1970 to the present.
  • CBCA reference & current events  Icon
    Provides in-depth access to a wide variety of Canadian periodicals, from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. Includes some full-text.
  • Environmental Science Collection  Icon
    Multidisciplinary, with comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.
  • GEOBASE  Icon
    Multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature covering human and physical geography, oceanography, pollution and more. International in scope.
  • Indigenous Studies Portal
    ontains more than 21,000 citations to books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps. Also includes full-text primary sources, such as photos, anthropological field notes, diaries, correspondence and other textual documents.
  • LegalTrac  Icon
    Indexes law reviews, bar association journals, and other law-related articles, 1980-date. Includes some full-text articles.
  • PAIS International  Icon
    Citations plus abstracts for political, social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.

Background Information

 

  • Arctic Environmental Atlas
    Online atlas presents environmental variables & parameters on the environment in the Arctic region. From the UN Environment Programme.
  • Arctic Portal Mapping System
    Interactive online data map from the Arctic Council
  • Arctic Strategy Documents (GeoPolitics of the High North)
    Online links to Arctic strategy documents from Canada, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Russia, the United States, and the European Union.
  • Atlas of Canada
    Comprehensive online collection of maps & related information covering diverse topics from climate change to the economy to health. Includes a map of the northern circumpolar region.
  • Circumpolar Health Atlas
    Print atlas that includes overviews of the physical environment that influences human health; cultures and languages of northern peoples; health conditions of children and youth; and health systems, policies, resources, and services.
  • Encyclopedia of global environmental change  
      
      Icon
    Online encyclopedia covers the many facets of global environmental change and appropriate engineering and policy responses.
  • Encyclopedia of the Arctic
    Print encyclopedia provides detailed essays on the Arctic's environment, wildlife, climate, history, exploration, resources, economics, politics, indigenous cultures and languages, conservation initiatives, and many other topics.
  • Exploring polar frontiers : a historical encyclopedia
    Print encyclopedia contains more than 500 entries covering people, places, expeditions, ships, countries, and subjects from 325 B.C.E. to the present, with the majority of coverage in the twentieth century.
  • Historical atlas of the Arctic
    Print atlas contains more than 300 maps showing five centuries of exploration with chapters on early notions of the Arctic, Russian exploration, the North Pole, Northwest and Northeast passages, territorial claims, and exploration by air. Includes a catalog of maps, and a chapter of sonar, satellites and sea ice.
  • Maritime jurisdiction and boundaries in the Arctic region map
    Identifies known claims and agreed boundaries of the Arctic region, plus potential areas that might be claimed in the future. Also includes briefing notes. (Durham University's International Boundaries Research Unit).

Country, Policy, Strategy information for Arctic countries

Unless noted, links below are for English-language or bilingual sites.

Current News and Blogs

Policy and Science Sources

  • Arctic Centre (Arktinen Keskus)
    The Arctic Centre is a national and international hub of information and centre of excellence which conducts multidisciplinary research in changes in the Arctic region. It is based at the University of Lapland in Rovaniemi, Finland.
  • Arctic Council
    "The Ottawa Declaration of 1996 formally established the Arctic Council as a high level intergovernmental forum to provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues..."
  • Arctic Governance Project
    The Arctic Governance Project joined preeminent researchers, indigenous leaders, and members of the policy community to frame the critical issues of governance in the Arctic and devise innovative responses for a sustainable future.
  • Arctic Institute of North America, University of Calgary
    The institute's mandate is to advance the study of the North American and circumpolar Arctic through the natural and social sciences, the arts and humanities and to acquire, preserve and disseminate information on physical, environmental and social conditions in the North.
  • Arctic Oceans Sciences Board
    AOSB is a non-governmental body that includes members and participants from research and governmental institutions in Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Japan, Korea, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. The long-term mission of the AOSB is to facilitate Arctic Ocean research by the support of multinational and multidisciplinary natural science and engineering programs.
  • Arctic Research Consortium of the United States
    ARCUS is a non-profit corporation consisting of institutions organized and operated for educational, professional, or scientific purposes.
  • ArcticNet
    ArcticNet brings together scientists and managers in the natural, human health and social sciences with their partners from Inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector to study the impacts of climate change in the coastal Canadian Arctic
  • Brookings Institution on Arctic Security
    More than 100 papers, interviews and other media on security issues in the Arctic from the Brookings Institution, a private nonprofit organization devoted to independent research and innovative policy solutions.
  • Centre for the North, Conference Board of Canada
    The Centre works with Aboriginal leaders, businesses, governments and more to promote sustainable prosperity in the North.
  • Congressional Research Service reports
    The public policy arm of the United States Congress, the Congressional Research Service issues provides policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation.
  • Geopolitics in the High North
    A research programme conducted by the Norwegian Institute for Defence Studies, Geopolitics in the High North provides links to Arctic strategy documents from the governments Canada, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Russia, the United States and the European Union.
  • International Directory of Arctic Environmental Organizations & Government Agencies & Related Sites
  • NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration): Arctic Theme Page
    Comprehensive Arctic resource.
  • PAME (Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment)
    "PAME members include National Representatives of the 8 Arctic Council States (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden and United States). Indigenous groups organizations, termed "Permanent Participants" also participate in PAME, as well as representatives from several observer countries and organizations. PAME provides a unique forum for collaboration on a wide range of Arctic marine pollution prevention and control issues." The Secretariat is located in Iceland.
  • The Arctic Institute | Center for Circumpolar Security Studies
    Interdisciplinary, independent think tank focused on Arctic policy issues. Aims to provide the objective analysis and looks at the Arctic as a region characterized by international and inter-sectoral cooperation.
  • United Nations Environment Programme: Polar Programme
  • University of the Arctic
    UArctic is an international cooperative network based in the circumpolar region, consisting of universities and other organizations with an interest in promoting education and research in the North.
  • World Petroleum Assessment, United States Geological Survey
    USGS research on the petroleum resources of the Arctic.
  • World Wildlife Fund
    WWF's mission is to stop the degradation of the planet's natural environment, and build a future in which humans live in harmony with nature.

Statistics

  • ArcticStat
    A statistical database dealing with the countries, regions and populations of the Circumpolar Arctic.
  • ProQuest statistical insight  Icon
    An index of statistical data sources on all topics. Includes governmental, private, and foreign sources.

Fisheries & Oceanography Librarian

Profile Image
Louise M. Richards
Contact Info
Odegaard Undergraduate Library
Office Hours Spring Quarter 2014:
Mondays, 11AM-1PM
Make Appt
Odegaard Writing & Research Center
1st floor, Odegaard Library
Send Email
Librarians with related expertise:
Maureen Nolan, Suzzallo Reference, nolan@u.washington.edu

Canadian Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Siôn Romaine
Contact Info
Suzzallo Library
Room 234
206-543-7014
sromaine@uw.edu
Send Email

Nordic Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Dan Mandeville
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
email: dcman@uw.edu
tel: (206) 685-1446
office: Suzzallo 139
Send Email
 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip