What's in the Guide
|
|
South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan. This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for researching South Asian topics. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.
History- South Asia- Primary Resources - Search historical databases and web resources.
|
Related Links & Guides
| Related Subjects |
Monthly New Books/Bibliographies | |
|---|---|---|
|
Link to International Studies Resources
|
South Asian Collection
Welcome to the Subject Guide for South Asian Studies. These pages provide access to resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites for South Asian Studies.
The South Asia Section acquires books, periodicals, films, sound recordings and other library materials from South Asia, and provides library skills instruction and specialized reference assistance in support of the South Asian Studies Program and the Department of Asian Languages and Literature at the University of Washington. The Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, South Asia Consortium - West (SACWest), and the Urdu Research Library Consortium.
South Asian Collection
The University of Washington Libraries has a nationally important collection of materials relating to South Asia, including monographs, serials, newspapers, microforms, maps, and sound and video recordings. The Libraries has been a participant in the cooperative acquisitions programs administered by the Library of Congress since 1962.
The collection emphasizes the geographical areas of India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. States of special interest within India are: Bihar, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Punjab, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh. The langauges emphasized are English, Hindi, Pali, Prakrit, Sanskrit, Tamil and Urdu. However, materials on Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Bhutan are also included and all South Asian languages are represented. Materials in European, Slavic, and other Asian languages are included as appropriate.
Strengths of the collection are anthropology, classical Sanskrit literature, economic history, economics, history, linguistics, philosophy, political science and Hindi and Tamil literature. The collection also includes material on architecture, art history, literature and religion.
The Microform and Newspaper Collections includes the Indian census from 1881 to 1951, newspapers dating from 1819 to the present, legislative debates from 1854, development plans and serial titles. [Click here for more information on South Asian newspapers held by the University of Washington. And, for a paper, "South Asian Newspapers", on the history and geographic distribution of South Asian newspapers; the current situation in preservation and access and suggest some considerations and directions for future activities written by Irene Joshi. Also prepared by Irene Joshi and available via the Digital South Asia Library is an International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes]
Special Collections contains a non-circulating collection of early travels in South Asia dating from the 16th to the 19th centuries. The Nepali Manuscript Collection is also kept there.
The East Asia Library has a collection of Tibetan language materials.
The Map Collection houses over 2,000 maps of South Asia.
The Music Listening Center has a collection of commercial recordings representative of the folk and classical traditions of South Asian music.
For subject guides in other areas of study, see the complete list here.
South Asian Studies Related Resources
- UW South Asia Center / Jackson School of International Studies
- History of South Asian Students at the University of Washington
- Association for Asian Studies (AAS)
- BASAS ( British Association for South Asian Studies)
- CONSALD ( Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation)
- SAALG ( South Asia Archive and Library Group)
- Sage Publications- India
- SAJA ( South Asian Journalist Association)
- ANU College of the Asia and the Pacific/ Research Scool of Pacific and Asain Studies
- Internet Resources for South AsiaPrepared by the University of California- Berkeley Library
- South Asian DiasporaPrepared by University of California- Berkeley Library
- South Asia Media NetThe South Asian Media Net is an independent and comprehensive website providing in-depth news coverage from across the South Asian region. It covers all seven countries of South Asia – Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan – as well as Afghanistan, and brings together news, views, analyses and information from a diverse collection of sources under one banner.
This daily news service is free and provides you with the latest headlines and news developments fro - SACAPSouth Asian Cooperative Acquisition Program
Subject Guide |
Subjects: South Asian Studies |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Internet Links : South Asia
- Digital South Asia LibraryAn ever growing collection of bibliographical databases, digital dictionaries, journals, maps, and other items.
- Portal to Asian Internet ResourcesCurrently includes more than six thousand professionally selected, cataloged, and annotated online resources, for all of Asia
Make a Gift
Featured Tutorials






Loading...
