Classical, Opera, Western ArtCountry, Folk, Rhythm & BluesHip Hop, Rap, ElectronicaInternational, Reggae, RootsJazz, Improv, ExperimentalRock, Indy, Pop, Punk
Kearney Barton CollectionCrocodile Cafe CollectionBob Nelson Folk CollectionBurt Porter Jazz CollectionPugets Sounds Honors ClassRacer SessionsUW School of MusicVera Project Collection
This is the "Puget Sounds Home" page of the "Puget Sounds Archive" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Puget Sounds Archive   Tags: digital history, music, pacific_northwest, seattle, seattle center  

Want to learn more about music of the Pacific NW? Then check out this guide on our Puget Sounds collection, which aims to document the kaleidoscopic nature of music performed and produced in Seattle and the Puget Sound region.
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/ps Print Guide

Puget Sounds Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in the Guide

Kearney Barton, crafter of the "NW Sound", in front of his Seattle home studio circa 2010 (photo by Chris Gergley)

With Puget Sounds the UW Libraries aims to document the kaleidoscopic nature of music performed and produced in Seattle and the Puget Sound region. No style, genre or music culture is excluded. Everything from art rock to hip hop, folk revival to free jazz, classical to opera, freak folk to shockabilly, Latin American folk to Balkan punk is represented in the collection.

This site is designed to help you navigate through and discover Puget Sounds' published recordings and archival material (reel-to-reel tape, born digital field recordings).

 

If you have questions or would like to donate recordings to Puget Sounds, please contact John Vallier.

 

Byron Pope - sample from the Kearney Barton Collection

 

Walt Robertson

"Dean of Northwest Folk Music" and Folkways recording artist Walt Robertson performing an informal set of songs. Recorded 1983 in Lilliwaup, WA, by Molly Oberbillig (Item NC-141). This recording is part of the Bob Nelson Collection of NW Folk Music.

Head, Distributed Media

Profile Image
John Vallier
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
UW Libraries Media Center
Suzzallo Library - Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
(206) 616-1210
Send Email
 

Ernestine Anderson & Cecil Young Quartet from 1951 (Burt Porter Collection)

 

Gula Matari (Kearney Barton Collection)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip