CookPérouseVancouverKotzebueLitkeU.S. Exploring/Wilkes Expedition
Henry J. WarrePaul KaneJohn Mix StanleyJames Gilchrist SwanSarah Cheney Willoughby
Cities from a Bird's-Eye-ViewAlaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition
This is the "Home" page of the "Visual Images of Exploration, Discovery, and Early Settlement in the Pacific Northwest" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual Images of Exploration, Discovery, and Early Settlement in the Pacific Northwest   Tags: special_collections  

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/pnwExploration Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Special Collections in the University of Washington Libraries holds extensive materials relating to the history and culture of the visual arts in the Pacific Northwest.

This guide showcases a small portion of these holdings. Presented here are highlights of artistic works -- primarily book illustrations, but also original artwork and decorative maps -- which document the exploration, discovery, and settlement of this region, dating from approximately 1770 to 1910.

You are welcome to come into Special Collections to see the materials in-person. Please visit the Special Collections Home Page to read about open hours and regulations for using the Collections. We are located on the lower level of Allen Library South.

The development of this guide was made possible by a grant from the University of Washington Friends of the Libraries, and by support from the Dorlesca and William Peterson Fund for the Pacific Northwest Collection.

What's in this Guide


Image: Fort Vancouver 1848

 

This Special Collections guide provides links to a selection of visual images and artistic works relating to the discovery, exploration and settlement of the Pacfic Northwest.

Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.

 

      
     

    Special Collections

     


    Special Collections

    Location:
    Allen Library South Basement

    Hours:
    Mon 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
    Tues 10:00 am - 7:45 pm
    Wed 10:00 am - 7:45 pm
    Thur 10:00 am - 4:45
    Fri 10:00 am - 4:45

    See website for additional details

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip