Near East 

Covers North Africa, the Arabian Peninsula, Turkey, east from the Levant throught Iran, and Central Asia, the languages of those regions, and Islam.
Last update: Nov 03, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/nearEast  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Near East Section research guide.  At the University of Washington, the Near East Section covers the Arab speaking countries:  Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, the West Bank, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Kuwait, the Emirates, Bahrain, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, and Libya. It also covers Iran, Turkey and the Central Asian countries:  Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.  As well as the modern period, the Section covers languages and civilization of the Ancient Near East.  To a lesser extent, the Section covers the Sudan, Somalia, Chad, and Mauritania.  The Section collects resources in Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Uzbek, Kyrgyz, Kazakh, Tajik, Turkmen, Uighur, Kurdish, and the ancient languages:  Akkadian, Assyrian, Sumerian, ancient Egyptian, Coptic and Syriac.  The Section holds primary responsibility for Islam as a religion and as practiced in the afore-mentioned countries.  Islam as practiced in other countries is covered in the subject guide for those regions.

 

Vernacular and Digitization

For materials published in the Middle East, generally the range of reference materials is much more limited than what exists for U.S. and European materials.  Education in the Middle East was traditionally based on memorization.  Arabic script did not lend itself to use on printing presses.  For example, for vernacular languages, products such as periodical indexes were not begun until late in the 20th century and still cover a relatively small portion of what has been published.

The existence of databases in languages of the Middle East is also limited.  In the U.S. and Europe, databases could be developed because publishers had used electronic texts to drive printing presses for some time.  Such texts were not as available in the Middle East, and scanning and OCR of texts in Arabic script is extremely time consuming and not very accurate.  The databases that do exist can be a bit challenging to use.

If you are having trouble locating resources, please contact Mary St. Germain for help.  There are options--it may just take a little more effort to get started.

 

Near East Librarian

Profile ImageMary St. Germain
Contact Info:
Room 133, Suzzallo Library
206-543-9517
Send Email

Subjects:
Arabic Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Central Asian Studies

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait