Citation Style GuidesRefWorks & EndNote WebZotero
This is the "Home" page of the "Library and Information Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Science  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/libraryscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in the Guide

This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for researching in Library and Information Science.  Use the tabs or follow the links below to navigate through this guide.

  • Find Articles - starting points and further suggestions for where to find journal articles
  • Books - from here, search for books in UW WorldCat and the UW-only catalog
  • e-Journals - browse online journals
  • Dissertations - where and how to find dissertations from UW and beyond
  • Reference Sources - access background information in Library and Information Science
  • Website Resources - information on professional organizations and links to popluar blogs
  • Citing Sources - resources to help manage citations
  Image courtesy of University of Washington Libraries' photo stream. 2009 
     

    News

    January, 2012:  Check out the electronic resources we have on trial and submit your comments!

    A grant from the UW Libraries Allen Endowment Award supported the purchase of a 2-year subscription to the 3rd edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (UW-restricted), edited by Marcia J. Bates and Mary Niles Maack.  Our subscription includes access to regular updates.  Check it out!  The Encyclopedia covers disciplines beyond, but related to, library and information science, including:

    • Archival Science
    • Bibliography
    • Document and Genre Theory
    • Informatics
    • Information Systems
    • Knowledge Management
    • Library and Information Science
    • Museum Studies
    • Records Management
    • Social Studies of Information
     

    Related Links & Guides

    Related SubjectsClass Guides
    • LIS 510  Information Behavior
    • LIS 583  Cross-cultural Approaches to Leadership
    • How do I . . . short tutorials providing instruction on common research and library tasks

    Library & Information Science Librarian

    Profile Image
    Nancy Huling
    Click to Chat with a UW librarian
    Logo - AIMLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    hulingn@uw.edu
    Suzzallo 164
    685-2211
    Send Email
     

    Connect from off-campus to UW-restricted resources

    Most of the databases, electronic journals and e-books available through the Libraries are restricted to UW faculty, students and staff. If you want to connect to a UW-restricted resource from outside of the UW campus network, you must log in through the UW Libraries off-campus proxy.

    Libraries Home
    Privacy
    Contact Us/Comments
    © 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
    Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
    phone: 206-543-0242
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip