LAW contains records from individuals and organizations that document the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2013
Type a search term in the box above to search for a name of a union or individual or a term appearing in the brief description of their collection. The link results will take you to the section of the guide in which that work appears.
If you search within the page for the term, you can find which collection it appears in.
The Labor Archives of Washington (LAW) was founded to preserve the records of working people and their unions and to serve as a center for historical research, ensuring that new generations have access to the rich labor history of the region. For more information about LAW visit the website.
Port of Seattle photo. Ronald E. Magden Collection.
|The Labor Archives contains more than 200 separate collections of labor related materials from individuals and organizations documenting the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest.
- Union Collections - Many unions have made the Labor Archives the official repository for their historical records -- minutes, office correspondence, membership files, publications and contracts.
- Personal Papers - Labor leaders, attorneys, arbitrators, and rank-and-file workers, and labor rights supporters have donated their personal papers.
- Organization Records - Records from organizations that supported organized labor, worker's rights, and civil rights and also records from labor critics and opponents. Also included are records of employers, some of which were the collective bargaining partners--and sometimes opponents--of unions.
- Primary Reference Tools - Selected resources and research tips for labor history researchers and those interested in ethnic, social, local, political, and women's history.
Our current collecting focus is labor organizations, labor union members and officers, and workers in the Pacific Northwest. Organizational donors may have a statewide, regional, or even a national mission, but usually have a strong tie with the local area as well.
Consult Conor Casey (206/685.3976 or firstname.lastname@example.org) for donating labor-related organizational records or personal papers.
- Labor Archives of Washington Digital Collections
A selection of digitized items drawn from the Labor Archives of Washington Collections and UW Libraries Special Collections including records documenting the Industrial Workers of the World in the Pacific Northwest, Filipino and Asian American cannery unionism, labor espionage and spies, labor and the New Deal, the Everett Massacre and Centralia Tragedy, and WTO protests Seattle.
- Industries and Occupations Digital Collections
A selection of digitized items drawn from the UW Libraries Special Collections including photographs from the fishing, timber and railroad industries.
- History: Labor Subject Guide
Links to the most useful databases and electronic and print resources for researching the history of labor with an emphasis on American labor history.
- Labor Archives of Washington website
A collaborative project between the University of Washington Libraries and The Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, the Labor Archives of Washington State (LAWS) serves as a center for research on the rich labor history of the region.
- Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
The Center promotes the study of labor through research, teaching and community outreach.
- Washington Women's History Consortium
Important women’s history collections from the Washington State Historical Society, Western Washington University, the University of Washington, Washington State University and The Evergreen State College.