AdvertisingAll subjectsArchitectureArt & DesignHistoryInterdisciplinaryMedicinePacific NorthwestPhotographyScience
Admin Sign In 

Image Databases & Resources 

Find high-quality images on a broad range of topics. Includes links to dozens of image databases and websites, and tips on finding and using images.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Images by Subject

Image databases and recommended web sites by subject.

 

Image Highlights

Shang
Jade woman from
Artstor

Photogram

Moholy-Nagy, Photogram
from UW Image Bank

Mexico
Mexico Independence Day
from AP Images.

Schouten
Schouten, One Botanical
from CAMIO.

 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the UW Libraries' guide to image databases and recommended image web sites. These pages provide access to images in many subject areas, and tips and tools for using images effectively. These pages were created by the UW Libraries' Image Resources Committee.

For subject guides in other areas of study, see the complete list here.

Image Databases Available from the UW Libraries

The UW Libraries provides access to the following image databases and collections. Please log in for off-campus access to UW restricted resources.

  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • CAMIO [UW restricted]  
    Art and design from American museums.
  • images.md [UW restricted]  
    Medical images that cover the entire spectrum of clinical medicine, each accompanied by detailed text written by experts.
  • UW Digital Collections  
    Photographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
  • UW Image Bank [UW restricted]  
    Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
  • UW Special Collections: Pictorial and Graphics Collections  
    Photographs and graphics section encompasses a variety of research materials, including photographs, architectural plans, postcards, historical maps, artwork and ephemera, most of which are related to various aspects of the Pacific Northwest, its history, geography, arts, and industries.

Images


View Complete Tag Cloud on Del.ico.us
 
 

Contacts

Denise Hattwig
UW Bothell Library
dhattwig@u.washington.edu


Justin Wadland
UW Tacoma Library
jwadland@u.washington.edu

 

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait