This is the "Home" page of the "Human Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Rights  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/humanRights Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Announcements: New Databases!

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Invaluable resource for information on crime and criminal issues in the United States.  Includes data analysis tools on all aspects of criminal behavior, victim information, trends, etc.

A subset within the Bureau of Justice Statistics, NACJD preserves, enhances and shares computerized data concerning capital punishment, inmate statistics for both state and federal facilities, terrorism, violence against women, and much more. Produces original research drawn from this data. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics contain:
  • Numbers of defendants in cases filed
  • Number of defendants in cases closed and outcomes for those defendants
  • Variety of prisoner statistics
Includes information about the closest ICE Detention Center.
A counterpoint is Detention Watch Network (DWN), one of several nonprofit organization workings for the rights of U.S. detained and deported immigrants.  For more nonprofit immigrant advocate groups, see ACLU Immigrants Rights Project Directory.
See especially One America. This group is based in Seattle and works for a hate-free America.
      
     

    Guide Contents

    Welcome to the Human Rights Subject Guide.  This guide is selective.  It is designed as a starting point that highlights the top recommended resources for research in Human Rights. 

    Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.

    • Find Articles - search through online databases to find articles on Human Rights topics
    • Books - search online catalogs to find books on Human Rights
    • Documents - find online and print documents relevant to Human Rights topics
    • Film & Literature - search online directories and bibliographies for Human Rights film and literature
    • News & Discussions - use electronic databases to stay connected to current Human Rights issues
    • Local Agencies - find Human Rights Agencies in your area
    • Organizations - find national and international Human Rights organizations
    • Specialized Websites - connect to websites, blogs, and listservs for current information about Human Rights topics
    • University of Washington Center for Human Rights - the Center engages students and faculty actively with local, regional, national and international organizations and policymakers to advance research in human rights

    Please email me if you can't find what you are looking for and if you have suggestions for content that should be added to this guide.  Thanks!
    --
    Glenda Pearson, Human Rights Librarian

     

    Class Guides

    JSIS 495F Task Force Winter 2014

    International Forced Migrations: Problems of Protection

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Glenda Pearson and Barbara
    Contact Info
    Microform & Newspaper Collections Unit
    Ground Floor, Suzzallo Allen Library
    University of Washington Libraries
    Box 352900
    Seattle, Washington 98195
    206.685.1645
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip