Find Books at UWBook ReviewsE-BooksScholarly Journal ArticlesDissertations and ThesesOnline Newspaper ArticlesCited Reference SearchingFind historical aerial photosUsing Aerial Photo Indexes
Citations & Writing GuideAdd Citations to RefWorksGet Organized with RefWorksExporting citations from EBSCO to RefWorksExporting citations from WorldCat to RefWorksCitations: Easy Copy/PasteBibliographies from WorldCatWrite-N-CiteChoosing a Citation Management SystemManaging Your Research and Bibliographies With Zotero
Engineering DatabasesCQ.com (Congressional Info)EBSCO DatabasesBackground InfoAudio ArticlesPAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceGoogle ScholarGoogle: Boolean Operators & Phrase SearchingGoogle: Domain LimitsEvaluating ResourcesPimsleur OneClick Digital Language Books
New UW Libraries Search FAQHow to Use the Library!Get Help 24/7Chat with a UW LibrarianFind Books at UWIntro to Search: UW WorldCat BasicsIntro to Subject GuidesOff-Campus Log InProxy BookmarkletSummit Basics for UW StudentsPick Up Books at Other Summit LibrariesInterlibrary Loan
Intro to Subject GuidesFind Local Architectural/Building InformationCompany ResearchIndustry ResearchEngineering Conference ProceedingsEngineering DatabasesEngineering StandardsPAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceCQ.com (Congressional Info)Market Research
Information CycleBackground InfoIntro to Subject GuidesScholarly Journal ArticlesResearch 101
This is the "Google Scholar" page of the "How Do I...?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How Do I...?   Tags: citations, fulltext, general, google, help, tutorials  

Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials and links to other help guides.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/howdoi Print Guide

Google Scholar Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a search tool that identifies scholarly research materials. Google Scholar can be used to identify some of the articles available in journals that the UW Libraries subscribes to. To find additional articles, use the research databases identified as most useful for your subject.

How will I know whether the UW has access to articles I find?

If you access Google Scholar when on a UW campus, you will automatically see "Check for Full-Text @ UW" links next to article citations. This means that access to these articles is already paid for by the Libraries. If you are off-campus, see below.

Add University of Washington in Your Settings

If you are off-campus and don't see any "Check for Full-Text @ UW" links, you can add UW as one of your libraries by doing the following:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click on "Settings" in the upper right
  • Click on "Library Links"
  • Search for University of Washington
  • Select "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" 
  • Click "Save"

What should I do if I don’t see a "Check for Full-Text @ UW" link for an article I want?

Google Scholar does not always know when the UW Libraries has a journal. Try the UW Libraries Search to see if we have a printed or electronic version of the article or the journal that the article was published in.

What should I do if I'm asked to pay for the full text?

Never pay for articles!

  • First check and see if there is a "Check for Full-Text @ UW" link.
  • If there is no "Check for Full-Text @ UW" link, use UW Libraries Search for the journal name to check and see if we have a printed or electronic version of the article or the journal that the article was published in.  
  • If the UW Libraries does not own the journal, current UW students, staff, and faculty may request it through Interlibrary Loan. Law School users may request it through their respective program.
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip