Find Books at UWBook ReviewsE-BooksScholarly Journal ArticlesFull-Text ArticlesDissertations and ThesesDVDs & VideoOnline Newspaper ArticlesCited Reference SearchingFind historical aerial photosUsing Aerial Photo Indexes
Citations & Writing GuideAdd Citations to RefWorksAccess RefWorksGet Organized with RefWorksExporting citations from EBSCO to RefWorksExporting citations from WorldCat to RefWorksCitations: Easy Copy/PasteBibliographies from WorldCatWrite-N-CiteChoosing a Citation Management SystemManaging Your Research and Bibliographies With Zotero
Engineering DatabasesCQ.com (Congressional Info)EBL Ebook LibraryHow do I use Ebrary?EBSCO DatabasesBackground InfoAudio ArticlesPAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceGoogle ScholarGoogle: Boolean Operators & Phrase SearchingGoogle: Domain LimitsStay Current: Email AlertsStay Current: RSS FeedsEvaluating ResourcesPimsleur OneClick Digital Language Books
Welcome to the LibrariesHow to Use the Library!Get Help 24/7Chat with a UW LibrarianFind Books at UWIntro to Search: UW WorldCat BasicsIntro to Subject GuidesOff-Campus Log InProxy BookmarkletSummit Basics for UW StudentsPick Up Books at Other Summit LibrariesInterlibrary LoanCertificate Students
Intro to Subject GuidesFind Local Architectural/Building InformationCompany ResearchIndustry ResearchEngineering Conference ProceedingsEngineering DatabasesEngineering StandardsPAIS - Public Affairs Information ServiceCQ.com (Congressional Info)Market Research
Information CycleBackground InfoIntro to Subject GuidesScholarly Journal ArticlesResearch 101
This is the "Home" page of the "How Do I...?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How Do I...?   Tags: citations, fulltext, general, google, help, tutorials  

Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials and links to other help guides.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/howdoi Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in this Guide




 
 

(use these links or the tabs above to browse to video tutorials)

  • Using the Libraries
    Introductory videos and guides to using the Libraries' services and collections; how to access everything, including the full-text, from off-campus; how to get help
  • Starting Research
    Introductory topics to doing research, figuring out where to start, finding background info
  • Find by Format
    how to find specific types of resources like articles, e-books, DVDS
  • Find by Subject
    finding information on specific subject areas, like business, engineering, political science
  • Citations
    how to manage your citations with tools like Refworks, or how to export or format them
  • Tools & Tips
    how to use specific features in systems like Gale Virtual Reference, EBSCO, CQ.com, Ebrary, etc.
  • Looking for Research 101?
    Research 101 has been archived. See some intro topics under Starting Research.
 

Featured Tutorials

1 2 3 4
 

Stuck? Ask us!

More Help Guides

Citations and Writing
by Citation Management Tools Support Team - Last Updated Apr 17, 2013
Find citation style guides, citation management tools, writing/grammar guides and links to UW writing centers.
19,945 views this year
Connect from Off-Campus
How to connect to UW-restricted resources when you are not on campus
How Do I... Find Books?
by Amanda Hornby, Verletta Kern - Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
This guide will give you some tips and tools for finding books in the UW Libraries.
716 views this year
How Do I... Find Journal Articles?
by Amanda Hornby, Verletta Kern - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide will give you tips and tools for finding scholarly journal articles in the UW Libraries.
13,122 views this year
How Do I...?
by Verletta Kern, Christine Tawatao - Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials and links to other help guides.
47,649 views this year
Images
by Anne Davis, Denise Hattwig - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Guide to high-quality image databases and resources. Interdisciplinary image content, search strategies, evaluating images, & image citation guide.
18,152 views this year
Impact Factor (Ranking) of Journals or Authors
Understanding the Journal Impact Factor and the Author Impact Factor.
Literature reviews - research tips and techniques
by Emily Keller - Last Updated Jan 14, 2011
Tools and strategies for more effective and efficient research for literature reviews in the social sciences.
289 views this year
Mobile-Friendly Tools & Resources
by Jennifer Ward - Last Updated May 10, 2013
Provides links to mobile-friendly tools, apps, and resources.
1,314 views this year
UW WorldCat
by Kathleen Collins, Nancy Huling, Emily Keller, Christine Tawatao - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
1,846 views this year
Libraries Home
Privacy
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip