This is the "Home" page of the "News: History Day" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

News: History Day  

Links to digitized newspapers and magazines, selected newspapers on microfilm, and other popular digital collections.

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/hdnews Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Popular History Day Resources

Welcome to the UW Libraries.  This guide provides links to the most popular electronic and microfilmed resources for researching for your National History Day projects. 

When did your topic happen?  Click on the appropriate date range below:

Use the tabs and links above to access newspapers, magazines, government documents, and more.

For more news resources, see the News Subject Guide.

 

Finding Newspapers & Using Microfilm

The UW Libraries has an extensive collection of historic newspapers on microfilm housed in the Microforms & Newspapers Collection (MicNews), located on the round floor of Suzzallo Library. 

Before you visit, be sure that you know the key facts about your topic.  Know the 4 Ws: 

What?  Who?  When?  Where?

The best way to identify available newspapers on microfilm is to use the card catalog located in MicNews.  You can also search the UW Libraries Catalog (see box below) for the newspaper title or browse through the Current Newspaper Subscriptions Guide. 

Microfilm readers, printers, and scanners are available.  Bring a flash drive if you want to scan and save. 

 

News Databases by Place

The UW Libraries has a large collection of newspapers published in the United States and around the world. Current and historic newspapers may be available in paper, online, and on microfilm.

Or use newspaper databases to find citations (and many times full-text access) to news articles written about a particular topic:

 

Using UW Databases

UW Resources marked with UW Restricted can be used from any UW Library.  Off-campus access to these resources is restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff. 

 

Get help from UW Librarians

For more indepth research, contact a UW librarian.  For additional resources, see the subject guides for history and news.

Theresa Mudrock
History Librarian
mudrock@u.washington.edu

Glenda Pearson
Microforms & Newspapers, head
pearson@u.washington.edu

Jessica Albano
Microforms & Newspapers
jalbano@u.washington.edu

Libraries Home
Privacy
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip