Admin Sign In 

Human Centered Design & Engineering  Tags: human-computer_interaction user_interface_design technical_communication technical_writing engineering_education information_design  

Major research databases and resources for finding Human Centered Design & Engineering information.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/hcde  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Which databases are most useful for your research in HCDE?

ACM Digital Library
IEEE Xplore
Inspec
Google Scholar
Academic Search Complete
ERIC
PsycINFO

 

Starting Points for HCDE Research

  • ACM Digital Library  
      
    Full-text Association of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings. [UW restricted]
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Search for journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, and academic web sites in all subjects. See the video How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?.
  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Full-text IEEE and IET journals and conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards. [UW restricted]
  • Inspec  
      
    Index to research literature in Electrical Engineering and Electronics, Physics, Computers and Control, and Information Technology. [UW restricted]

More HCDE Databases

  • Academic OneFile  
      
    Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. [UW restricted]
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. [UW restricted]
  • Compendex  
      
    Index to research literature in all areas of engineering. [UW restricted]
  • ERIC  
      
    Index to research literature in education, including writing and technical writing. [UW restricted]
  • Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts  
      
    Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. [UW restricted]
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. [UW restricted]
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Index to research literature in psychology. [UW restricted]
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Index to research literature in sociology and related disciplines. [UW restricted]
  • Web of Science  
      
    Index to scholarly journal articles in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. Cited reference searching is also available. [UW restricted]
  • More Article & Research Databases  
      
    Links to hundreds of UW Restricted databases in all subject areas.
 

HCDE Librarian

Profile ImageLinda Whang
Contact Info:
Engineering Library
University of Washington
Box 352170
Seattle, WA 98195-2170
(206)685-8370
Send Email

Subjects:
Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Human Centered Design & Engineering

Librarians with related expertise:
Mel DeSart, Julie Cook, Christina Byrne

 

Click to Chat with a UW Librarian

Click to chat with a UW librarian

Helpful Links

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait