AnthropologyApplied MathematicsArchitectureArt/Art HistoryEducationEngineeringEnvironmental and Forest SciencesGeography/GISGeologyHealth SciencesHistoryLibrary and Information ScienceMusicPolitics, Government, PolicyPsychologySciencesSocial WorkUrban PlanningLinguistics
General Funding DatabasesFunding from the U.S. GovernmentGrants and Grant Writing
PhD ResourcesPostdocsProspective Graduate Students
This is the "Home" page of the "Graduate Student Funding Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graduate Student Funding Resources   Tags: assistantships, fellowships, financial, funding, graduate_school, grants, postdocs, postdoctoral, scholarships  

This is the beta version subject guide for graduate student funding resources. More resources are being added.
Last Updated: May 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/gfis_funding_resources Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in the Guide

GFIS logo This guide provides access to useful databases and resources for researching funding opportunities. See below for tips on how to navigate through this guide.

*Formerly named Grants and Funding Information Service

Image created by Elise Doney
     

    How to Use This Guide

    The purpose of this guide is to provide access to an extensive array of funding resources. The resources have been grouped into categories that reflect the types of funding searches most graduate students are likely to undertake. You can look for resources based upon you academic level,  discipline, the type of funding you are seeking, or special characteristics.

    To use this guide, select the tab that most closely fits the type of funding you are seeking. Here are some suggestions to get you started:

    • If you are an entering student or pre-dissertation PhD student, try beginning with the "General Funding Information" tab. There is some useful information about the funding process here. In the right column, there is a list of searchable databases. Most of these are hosted by other universities and contain funding opportuntiies specifically for graduate students. You do not need to be a student at any of the schools to qualify for most of the funding opportunties listed in these databases.
    • If you are a PhD student who is about to take exams and preparing to begin dissertation research or is in the writing phase, select the "PhD Resources" tab. You may also want to use the databases listed in the "General Funding Information" tab.
    • If you are searching for funding to go to a conference or to support research travel, select the "Travel" tab.
    • If you are looking for funding for a specific discipline, try the "Funding by Discipline" tab. This tab is a work in progress. If you do not see your discipline, try the databases in the "General Funding Information" tab or in the "Grants and Grant Writing" tab. Also send GFIS an email so that your discipline will be added in the near future.
    • If you are an international student, select the "International Students" tab. This tab contains links to information about funding opportunities and to databases that have fellowship and grant opportunities for which international students are eligible. There are also a few specific fellowships listed.

    Graduate Funding Information Manager

    Profile Image
    Anna Shelton
    Contact Info
    Research Commons, Allen Library South, Office G86A
    Send Email
     
    Libraries Home
    Privacy
    Contact Us/Comments
    © 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
    Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
    phone: 206-543-0242
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip