This is the "Subject Info" page of the "Collection Guidelines: English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Guidelines: English   Tags: collection_guidelines  

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the English language and literatures collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/englishcollectguide Print Guide

Subject Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

Image: http://bookshelves.tumblr.com/

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the English language and literatures collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the English Studies Librarian.

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

English as a discipline concentrates on the study of the literature written in English, and the study of English language. Such study employs the methods of literary criticism and scholarship and mastery of the techniques of expository or creative writing. The aim is to recognize not only inherent value of a literary work, but also to increase our understanding of the culture and the society from which the literary work emanates.

      

    Subject Classification

    Library of Congress Classification (LC):

    • English and American literature is represented in PR and PS schedules, respectively.
    • English philology and language is covered by PE.
    • Celtic languages and literatures are classified as PB1001-3029.
    • Z5051- 8999, subject and personal bibliography.

    Dewey Decimal Classification (Dewey materials are all located in remote storage):

    • The primary classification number for English and Anglo-Saxon literature is 820.
    • American literature in English is represented by 810.
    • English and Anglo-Saxon languages are covered by the 420's.
    • Celtic languages and literature is classified in 491.6 and 891.6, respectively.
    • 800-809, literature (belles lettres);
    • 010, bibliography; 080, general collections of essays, quotations, etc. in English
    • 920, which includes literary biography. Works cataloged prior to 1967 are found in these classes.
        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip