This is the "Home" page of the "Crocodile Café Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Crocodile Café Collection  

The Crocodile Café Collection contains over 3000 hours of live music recordings. Recorded at the Café between 2002 and 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by dozens of artists, notable and obscure.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/croc Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Crocodile Café Collection contains over 120 continuous-days of unique live audio and video recordings. Recorded at the Crocodile Café between May 2002 and December 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by 2,000+ artists. From indy rock to punk, freak folk to noise, and Disney cover to shoegazer, the collection captures numerous memorable and energetic performances. Whatever your opinion of a particular band, the authentic and crystalline quality of the recordings is a testament to the audio engineering prowess of the collection's donor and creator, Jim Anderson. Want to listen? Come visit the Media Center on Suzzallo Library's 3rd floor or listen to a few samples on the "Listen!" tab above.

 

Croc Collection Word Cloud

 

FAQ

Jim Anderson @ the Croc's board.

Q: Can I listen to the recordings?

A: Yes. The entire collection is available on our "jukebox" listening computer station at the UW Libraries Media Center, which is located on Suzzallo Library's 3rd floor (hours and location information available here).

Click here to listen to online samples of live Cafe performances, including a series of Harvey Danger recordings. 

Q: Do I need to be affiliated with the UW in order to listen to them?

A: No. While it is the Libraries' primary mission is to serve members of the UW community, the general public is encouraged to come and listen. Don't be shy. Come be our guest!

Q: What's in the collection?

A: Click here to view a list of the collection's contents.


Q: Why aren't the recordings online?

A: The University of Washington owns the recordings but not the rights to the intellectual content on the recordings. Therefore, in order to provide researchers access to the material while preventing unauthorized duplication and distribution of the recordings, we restrict access to in-library use only. We want to be sure that we are working on the side of the artists by both preserving their legacy and protecting their intellectual content.

Q: Why is it housed at the University of Washington?

A: Mr. Anderson donated the original recordings to the UW Ethnomusicology Archives in October 2008 (Collection number 2008.12). They are being preserved and made accessible by the Archives and the UW Libraries. This collection complements the Ethnomusicology Archive's regional collections and the Media Center's Puget Sounds project, which aims to document music in the Pacific NW.

What if I have questions or concerns about the collection? Contact John Vallier.

Head, Distributed Media

Profile Image
John Vallier
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
UW Libraries Media Center
Suzzallo Library - Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
(206) 616-1210
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip