This is the "University Libraries" page of the "University of Washington Faculty & Librarian Publications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Washington Faculty & Librarian Publications  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/librarianpublications Print Guide

University Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Reviews

Richards, LM. (2012). CERF-Lit. Reference Reviews, 26(1), 33.

Richards LM. (2012). National wetlands inventory. Reference Reviews, 26(4), 42-43.

Whisner, M. (2014). Louis Brandeis—Lawyer, reformer, justice [Review of the book Louis D. Brandeis: A Life by M. I. Urofsky], The Journal of the Gilded Age & Progressive Era, 13, 128-3.

Whisner, M. (2014). Women who left their separate spheres to become lawyers [Review of the book: Rebels at the Bar: The Fascinating, Forgotten Stories of America’s First Women Lawyers by J. Norgren], The Journal of the Gilded Age & Progressive Era, 13, 451-54.

 

Featured Publications from UW librarians

Monographs

Cover Art
Literary Research and Postcolonial Literatures in English - H. Faye Christenberry
Call Number: PN73 .L53 2012
ISBN: 9780810883833
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Trying Home - Justin Wadland
Call Number: F899.H66 W34 2014
ISBN: 9780870717420
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Errors of Young Tjaz - Florjan Lipus; Michael Biggins (Translator)
Call Number: PG1919.22.I63 Z3613 2013
ISBN: 9781564789082
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
University of Washington - Antoinette Wills; John D. Bolcer
ISBN: 9781467131827
Publication Date: 2014

 

Cataloging and Metadata Services

Shadle, S. (2013). How libraries use publisher metadata. Insights: the UKSG Journal. 26 (3): 290-297.

 

Collection Management Services

Di Biase, L., Emery, J.,& Parks, B. (2012).The demand driven acquisitions pilot project by the orbis cascade alliance:

               An interview with members of the demand driven acquisitions implementation team. Serials Review, 38,132-126.

 

 

Data Services

Hiller, S. and Wright, S. (2014). From user needs to organizational performance: Twenty years of assessment at

                the University of Washington Libraries. In S. Murphy (Ed.), The Quality Infrastructure: Measuring, Analyzing

               and Improving Library Services. Chicago: American Library Association.

Muilenburg, J., Lebow, M., & Rich, J. (2014). Lessons learned from a research data mManagement pilot course at an

               academic library. Journal of eScience Librarianship 3(1), forthcoming.

Strasser, C., Wright, S., & Steinhart, G. (2013) Primer for Librarians. DataONE: An Overview. Retrieved October 23, 2014 from

               https://www.dataone.org/sites/all/documents/DataONEforLibrarians.pdf.

Wright, S. et al. (2014) Collaboration and tension between institutions and units providing data management support.

               Bulletin of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 40 (6), 18-21.

 

East Asia Library

Gonzalez-Smith, I., Swanson, J.,& Tanaka, A. (2014). Unpacking identity: Racial, ethnic, and professional identity and

               academic librarians of color. In N. Pagowsky & M. E. Rigby (Ed.), The librarian stereotype: Deconstructing perceptions

               and presentations of information work. (pp. 149-174) Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Shen, Z. (Ed.) (2013). Important Newspaper and Journal Editorials and Articles at the Outset of the Great Leap Forward

               and the Great Famine, In Y. Song (Ed.) Great Leap Froward-Great Famine Database. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard

                University Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies; Hong Kong: Hong Kong Chinese University Service Center for

               Chinese Studies.

Shen, Z. (Ed.) (2014). Yu Yingshi Wenji, Vols. 11-12. Guilin: Guangxi Normal University Press.

Shen, Z.; Zhang, H.; and Zou, X. Chapter 3: China. In N. Asato (Ed.),  Handbook for Asian Studies Specialists: A Guide

               to Research Materials and Collection Building Tools. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, INC.

Tanaka, A. (2014, May 28). Hokubei Nihon kenkyu shisho no kyoryoku no arikata, kore made to kore kara, dejitaru jinbungaku

               no tojo o kikkake ni = How Japanese librarians should respond to Digital Humanities. Digital Humanities Monthly, 34.

Tanaka, A. (2013, November 22). Kaigai deno refakyo katsuyo = How we use National Diet Library's Collaborative Reference

               Database. Sankasha tsushin = Newsletter for collaborators, 297.

Yi, H. (2014) Ch'aekkŏri pyŏngp'ung ŭl ttulk'o kŏrŏ naon ch'aektŭl ŭi haengjin [Marching of Books], Seoul:

               Korean Library Association.

Yi, H. (2013). Korea. In N. Asato (Ed.) Handbook for Asian Studies Specialists : A Guide to Research Materials and Collection

               Building Tools (pp.324-362). California : ABC-CLIO, 2013.

 

Friday Harbor Library

Nolan, M. (2014). Forestry. In C. LaGuardia Magazines for Libraries. New York, NY: Bowker.

Nolan, M.D., Baligand, M.P., Brannemann, M., & Watkins, S.G. (2012). On the wild frontier of discovery. Proceedings of the

               38th Annual IAMSLIC Conference. Anchorage, AK: IAMSLIC.

Nolan, M.D., Butros, A. & Taylor, S. (2013). Thriving after surviving: Science library branch closures. Proceedings of the 39th

               Annual IAMSLIC Conference. Dania Beach, FL: IAMSLIC.

 

Gallagher Law Library

Nyberg, C.R. (2012). Subject compilations of state laws 2010-11: An annotated bibliography. Twin Falls, ID: Boast Nyberg.

Nyberg, C.R. (2013). Subject compilations of state laws 2011-2012: An annotated bibliography. Twin Falls, ID: Boast Nyberg.

Nyberg, C.R. (2014). Subject compilations of state laws 2012-2013: An annotated bibliography. Twin Falls, ID: Boast Nyberg.

Whisner, M. (2013). Bitten by the reading bug (usefulness of law librarians reading books about law). Law Library Journal,

               105 (1) 113-122.

Whisner, M. (2012). Books on my desk (reference books and their electronic counterparts). Law Library Journal,

               104 (4), 597-606.

Whisner, M. (2012). Fifty more constitutions (state constitution research). Law Library Journal, 104 (2), 331-339.

Whisner, M. (2014). Getting to Know Fastcase. Law Library Journal, 106, forthcoming.

Whisner, M. (2012). Negotiating weaknesses (in responding to interview questions and job performance). Law Library Journal,

                104 (3), 455-459.

Whisner, M. (2013). Other uses of legislative history. Law Library Journal, 105 (2), 243-254.

Whisner, M. (2013). Some guidance about federal agencies and guidance. Law Library Journal, 105 (3), 385-394.

Whisner, M. (2013). Thanking and being thanked. Law Library Journal, 105 (4), 561-566.

Whisner, M. (2012). That most congenial lawyer/bibliographer (A Tribute to Morris L. Cohen (1927-2010)). Law Library Journal,

                104 (1), 135-147.

Whisner, M. (2014). There oughta be a law-a model law. Law Library Journal, 106 (1), 125-134.

Whisner, M. (2014). The 4-1-1 on lawyer directories. Law Library Journal, 106 (2), 257-266.

Wolotira, A. (2012). From a Trickle to a Flood: A Case Study of the Current Index to Legal Periodicals to Examine the Swell of

               American Law Journals Published in the Last Fifty Years. Legal Reference Services Quarterly, 31, 150.

Wolotira, A. (2014) Googling the law: Apprising students of the benefits and flaws of Google as a legal research tool.

               Perspectives, 21, 33.

Wolotira, A. & Leysen, S. (2013). Innovative Displays in Law Libraries. AALL Spectrum, 17.

 

Health Sciences Library

Dettmar, N. (2014). Where to start? Needs assessment. In M. Spatz (Ed.) The Medical Library Association Guide to Providing

               Consumer and Patient Health Information. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.

Jones D.W., Wright, D., Jankowski T.A. (2014). Clinical inquiry: What treatments relieve arthritis and fatigue associated with

               systemic lupus erythematosus? Journal of Family Practice 63 (10), 607-17.

Kouame, Gail. (2014) HEALWA: A unique information resource for Washington State health professionals: A 5-year review."

               Journal of Hospital Librarianship, 14 (4), 391 - 394.

Kouame, G. & Young, D. (2014) Promoting health literacy and personal health management with inmates in a county

               detention center. Journal of Hospital Librarianship, 14 (2), 172-179.

Muilenburg, J., Lebow, M., & Rich, J. (2014). Lessons learned from a research data management pilot course at an

               academic library. Journal of eScience Librarianship 3 (1), forthcoming.

 

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services

de Jong, C. J., & Nance, H. (2014). In a world of Amazon, is it time to rethink ILL? Interlending & Document Supply, 42, 42-50.

Frederiksen, L., Bean, M., & Nance, H. (2012). Global resource sharing. Oxford, U.K: Chandos Pub.

Bean, M., Nance, H., & Frederiksen, L. (2012). Global resource sharing from a Pacific Northwest perspective. Interlending &

            Document Supply, 40(1), 43-48.

 

International Studies

Biggins, M. (2014). Afterword. D.Jančar, The tree with no name. Champaign, IL: Dalkey Archive Press.

Jančar, D. (2014). The tree with no name. (M. Biggins, Trans.). Champaign, IL: Dalkey Archive Press.

Lipuš, F. (2014). The errors of young Tjaž (M. Biggins,Trans.). Champaign, IL: Dalkey Archive Press.

 

Libraries Administration

Hiller, S. and Wright, S. (2014). From user needs to organizational performance: Twenty years of assessment at

                the University of Washington Libraries. In S. Murphy (Ed.), The Quality Infrastructure: Measuring, Analyzing

               and Improving Library Services. Chicago: American Library Association.

LeRouge C., Tolentino H., & Fuller, S. (2013). Doing and understanding: use of case studies for health informatics

               education and training. In G. M. Sarnikar S., Bennett D. (Eds.), Cases on healthcare information technology

               for patient care management (pp. 1–33). Hershey, PA: IGI Global.

 

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific NW Region

Byrd G.D., Devine P.J., & Corcoran K.E. (2014) Health sciences librarians' awareness and assessment of the Medical

               Library Association Code of Ethics for health sciences librarianship: the results of a membership survey.

               Journal of the Medical Library Association, 2(4), 257-70.

Devine, P.J. (2014). It takes a network: Building partnerships to identify, access and promote health disparities

               resources. In D.T. Smith & T.E. Sabino The Impact of Social Factors on Health: A Critical Reader for the Physician

               Assistant (pp. 75-89), San Diego, CA: Cognella Academic Publishing.

 

Odegaard Library

Pierce, D. (2012). Rising to a New Paradigm: Infusing Health and Wellness into the Music Curriculum. Philosophy of Music

               Education Review, 20 (2), 154-176.

Raftus, D. & Collins, K. (2014). “Does the reference desk still matter? Assessing the desk paradigm at the University of

               Washington Libraries” In. C. Forbes & J. Bowers (Eds.) Rethinking Library Reference for Academic Libraries.

               Boulder, CO: Scarecrow Press.

 

Office of the Dean

Wilson, L. (2012). Creating sustainable futures for academic libraries. Journal of Library Administration, 52 (1), 78-93.

 

Special Collections

Bromberg, N. (2014). Afterword. F. McCue. Mary Randlett Portraits. Seattle: University of Washington Press.

Bromberg, N., & Palin, H. (2013). Starting from nothing: The art of creating a film archive. Moving Image: the Journal of the

               Association of Moving Image Archivists, 13 (1), 217-225.

Wills, A. and Bolcer, J.D. (2014). University of Washington (The campus history series).  Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing.

 

Suzzallo Reference & Research Services

Banerjee, D. (2014). Foreword. A. Bhatt & N. Iyer, Roots and Reflections: South Asians in the Pacific Northwest. Seattle:

               University of Washington Press.

Banerjee, D. (2014, January 28-30). Information literacy and elearning in an era of emerging technologies. Paper

               presented at the International Seminar on Application of Communication and Information Technology in Library

               ( SACITIL) Conference. Kolkata : SACITIL.

Chin Roemer, R. & Borchardt, R. (2013) Institutional altmetrics and academic libraries. Information Standards Quarterly,

               25(2), 14-19.

Christenberry, F. (2012). Bibliography of Australian and New Zealand literature and criticism published in North America,

               2010-2011. Antipodes: A North American Journal of Australian Literature, 26 (1), 115-132.

Christenberry, F. (2012). Literary research and postcolonial literatures in English: Strategies and sources. Lanham, MD:

               Scarecrow.

Nolan, M. (2014). Forestry. In C. LaGuardia Magazines for Libraries. New York, NY: Bowker.

Nolan, M.D., Baligand, M.P., Brannemann, M., & Watkins, S.G. (2012). On the wild frontier of discovery. Proceedings of the

               38th Annual IAMSLIC Conference. Anchorage, AK: IAMSLIC.

Nolan, M.D., Butros, A. & Taylor, S. (2013). Thriving after surviving: Science library branch closures. Proceedings of the 39th

               Annual IAMSLIC Conference. Dania Beach, FL: IAMSLIC.

Raftus, D. & Collins, K. (2014). Does the reference desk still matter? Assessing the desk paradigm at the University of

               Washington Libraries” In. C. Forbes & J. Bowers (Eds.) Rethinking Library Reference for Academic Libraries.

               Boulder, CO: Scarecrow Press.

Vallier, J. (2013). Archives, sound and moving image. In C. H. Garrett (Ed.) The Grove Dictionary of American Music

               (pp.160-165). New York: Oxford University Press.

Vallier, J. (2014). Fear and control in a rock n' roll archive. Journal for the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual

               Archives, 43, 62-69.

 

UW Bothell Library

Belanger, J. & Oakleaf, M. (2013). AMSs: Questions to spark librarian engagement. Journal of Academic Librarianship,

               39, 354-56.

Belanger, J., Oakleaf, M., & Graham, C. (2013). Choosing and using assessment management systems: What librarians

               need to learn. Proceedings of the ACRL Fifteenth National Conference. Indianapolis: Association of College and

               Research Libraries.

Brown, N., Bussert, K., Hattwig, D., & Medaille, A. (2013). Keeping up with…visual literacy. Chicago: Association of

               College & Research Libraries.

Bussert, Leslie. (2014). Marinated in information literacy: Using curriculum mapping to assess the depth, breadth, and

               content of your embedded instruction program." In K. Calkins and C. Kvenild (Eds.), The Embedded Librarian's

               Cookbook. Chicago: Association of College & Research Libraries.

Ellenwood, D. (2013). Hip-hop and information literacy: Critically incorporating hip-hop in information literacy instruction.

               In S. Higgins & L. Gregory (Eds.), Information literacy and social justice: Radical professional praxis (163-184).

               Sacramento, CA: Library Juice Press.

Ellenwood, D., Ferguson, E., Garrard, T., Lazzaro, A., Mills, S., & Watson, M. (2014, June). Cultural competency on campus:

               Applying ACRL’s Diversity Standards. College & Research Libraries News, 75(6), 332-335.

Hattwig, D., Bussert, K., Medaille, A., & Burgess, J. (2013). Visual literacy standards in higher education: New opportunities

               for libraries and student learning. portal: Libraries and the Academy. 13(1), 61-89.

Lam, N. & Sanderson, B. (2014). One ingredient, many flavors: Following one event through the information timeline. In K.

               Calkins & C. Kveneld (Eds.), The Embedded Librarian's Cookbook. Chicago, IL: Association of College & Research Libraries.

Phelps, S., Hyde, L., & Planchon Wolf, J. . (January 01, 2014). Information literacy competency standards for nursing

               approved by the ACRL Board of Directors, October 2013. College and Research Libraries News, 75 (1), 34-41.

Phelps, S., Hyde, L., & Planchon Wolf, J. (2014). Teaching tips - Mapping to the ACRL Information Literacy Competency

               Standards for nursing. Retrieved from http://healthsciencesinterestgroup.wikispaces.com/file/view/TeachingTips.pdf/

Sanderson, B. & Rigby, M. (2013). TechConnect: We've reddit, have you? What librarians can learn from a site full

               of memes. College and Research Libraries News, 74(10), 518-521.

 


image via UW Bothell

 

UW Tacoma Library

Becker, D. & Monks, K. (2013). Slicing and dicing the digital preservation and dissemination of land grant research: A survey

               of and model for digital collections of agricultural experiment station and extension publications. Journal of Agricultural

               & Food Information, 14(3), 225-241.

Monks, K., Gaines, A., & Marineau, C. (2014). A statewide survey of censorship and intellectual freedom. Library Philosophy

               and Practice. 1083.

Wadland, J. (2014). Trying home: The rise and fall of an anarchist utopia on Puget Sound. Corvallis, OR: Oregon State

               University Press.


image via UW Tacoma Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip