Major Encyclopedia Collections
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. In addition most encyclopedia articles include short bibliographies that will lead you to the major works on the topic.
These collections include encyclopedias covering many different subjects. Search them to find an encyclopedia or other reference book related to your topic.
Communication encyclopedias and other background sources
This is just a selection of some communication-related encyclopedias, for others please search the UW Libraries Catalog.
Reference sources accessible online are marked with a lock (
) image.
- The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
- African Americans in the Media Today : an Encyclopedia
- American Journalism; A History, 1690-1960
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
- Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
- Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood
- Encyclopedia of Globalization
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications- Encyclopedia of Journalism
- Encyclopedia of Media and Politics
- Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication and Media - Encyclopedia of Television
- The Greenwood Library of American War Reporting
- The Global Public Relations Handbook : theory, research, and practice
- History of American Magazines
- Historical Dictionary of African American Television
The International Encyclopedia of Communication- The Internet : a historical encyclopedia
- The Moving Image Genre-Form Guide : Motion Picture/Broadcasting/Recorded Sound Division
- The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio
- The Queer Encyclopedia of Film & Television
- Tech Terms : What every telecommunications and digital media person should know
World Press Encyclopedia : A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide
Books in the UW Libraries

The UW Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress call numbers. Communication topics are covered by many academic disciplines, thus appear at different call numbers. If you prefer to browse through encyclopedias related to communication, begin in Suzzallo Reference at call number o/Allen Stacks P87.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait