Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Mathematics, Pure and Applied 

Guide to finding articles, books, and reference resources in mathematics and applied mathematics.
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/math  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Using an EBSCO Database

Tips and tricks for using EBSCO's Academic Search Complete database, which is a good general starting point for most research. These search tips will work for any EBSCO database. | Time - 3:01 | Transcript | Play video

 

Finding Articles in Mathematics/Applied Mathematics

Databases are listed below according to academic level, from undergraduate to research level.  See the Mathematics Research Library Home Page for more resources.

  • Academic OneFile  
      
    Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. [UW restricted]
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. [UW restricted]
  • MathSciNet, 1800's-  
      
    Indexes and reviews articles and books on mathematics and statistics. [UW restricted]
  • Zentralblatt MATH, 1868-  
      
    Indexes and reviews books and articles in mathematics and statistics. [UW restricted]
  • Web of Science  
      
    Index to scholarly journal articles in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. Cited reference searching is also available. [UW restricted]
  • JSTOR  
      
    Older (1665-) core mathematics and statistics journals; index to complete fulltext. [UW restricted]
  • Inspec, 1896-  
      
    This index to journal articles includes physics, applied math, and computer science. [UW restricted]
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Search for journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, and academic web sites in all subjects. See the video How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?.
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Mathematics Research Librarian

Profile ImageMartha Tucker
Contact Info:
Mathematics Research Library
University of Washington
C-306 Padelford
Box 354350
Seattle, WA 98195-4350
206.543.7903
Send Email

Subjects:
Mathematics, Statistics, Applied Mathematics

 

Click to Chat with a UW Librarian

Click to chat with a UW librarian

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait