How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?
Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video
Just botany
These resources are exclusively for botany:
- IPNI: International Plant Names Index A collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants
- Kew Bibliographic Databases A combined searching tool to three bibliographic databases: KR, Kew record of taxonomic literature, PMBD, Plant micromorphological bibliographic database, and EBBD, Economic botany bibliographic database
- Taxonomic Literature (TL2) The standard reference work for plant taxonomic literature from Linnean times to 1940. In this online edition you can browse the volumes and supplements of TL-2, and the original work is enhanced by the addition of various search options, including full text searching.
[UW restricted]
Starting Points
Both of these databases are good places to start searching, especially if you only need a few good articles:
- Academic OneFile
Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[UW restricted] - Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[UW restricted]
Beyond the surface
These databases provide more complete coverage of biological journals. Additional resources exclusive to botany and zoology are to the left and right, respectively.
- Agricola Serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The database covers materials encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- BioOne Abstracts and indexes Indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization; provides a unique aggregation of over 65 bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers. [UW restricted]
- BIOSIS Provides comprehensive coverage (1969-present) of international life science journal and meeting literature including references found in Biological abstracts and Biological abstracts/RRM. [UW restricted]
- CAB Direct Provides access to citations and abstracts of the international agricultural literature, including plant protection, forestry engineering, animal husbandry, animal and plant breeding, genetics, veterinary medicine, nutrition, rural development, economics, and leisure and tourism. CAB Abstracts indexes articles, books, conference proceedings and reports. [UW restricted]
- Web of Science Covers journal literature in all sciences from 1900 to present; includes arts & humaities and social sciences. [UW restricted]
How do I find out if the article I need is online?
Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video
Just zoology
These resources are exclusively for zoology:
- Wildlife & ecology studies worldwide
Index to scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations and other publications.
[UW restricted] - Zoological Record Covers all aspects of animal research including: behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, morphology, nomenclature, physiology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
[UW restricted]
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait