Landscape Architecture: MLA Thesis Research Fall 2012

Subject Guide for Landscape Architecture Students.

Degrees of Public Access on Preserved Land

Article Databases

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)

Author: Lubell, Mark; Fulton, Allan. "Local Policy Networks and Agricultural Watershed Management,"
Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory, 18. 4 (Oct 2008): 673-696

KW=watershed management California 11 hits

Government Reports

US Environmental Protection Agency Surf Your Watershed Sonoma

US Fish and Wildlife Service, et al., Sears Point Watershed Restoration Project

Central Sonoma Watershed Project, Spring Creek subwatershed, Sonoma County, California : draft environmental impact statement/report
Author: Francis C H Lum; Sotoyome/Santa Rosa Resource Conservation District (Calif.); Sonoma County Water Agency (Calif.); United States. Soil Conservation Service.
Publisher: [California?] : The Service, 1980. Available: Sonoma County Library

Web Sites

Calflora Watersheds in Sonoma County

Nature Conservancy CA properties

Fairfield Osborn Preserve 411-acre nature preserve

Sonoma County Agricultural Preservation and Open Space District

Sonoma Ecology Center

Sonoma Land Trust

Sonoma Valley Watershed Conservancy

Sonoma Valley Watershed Council

Southern Sonoma Resource Conservation District

Worldcat

Crump, J.R., 2003: "Finding a place in the country: exurban and suburban development in Sonoma County, California," Environment and Behavior 35 , 187 -202

Academic Contacts

General Watershed Management Information David Lewis - Watershed Management Program Advisor, University of Califfornia Cooperative Extension, Sonoma, djllewis@ucdavis.edu

KW=watershed management Sonoma; public access watershed Sonoma; Sonoma water access;

Subject headings=Flood control -- California -- Sonoma County.
Watershed management -- California -- Sonoma County.

Seattle Self-organized Homeless Encampments

Article Databases

Ebsco Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Political Affairs Information Service (PAIS)

PubMed Health Aspects

Social Sciences Citation Index

Sociological Abstracts

Blogs

Seattle Street Stories

West Seattle Blog

Dissertations+Theses

Dissertations and Theses Full Text

KW=Homelessness theses

Survival in the landscape : a study of homeless encampments in Seattle, Washington
Author: Brandon Lea De Rosa
Dissertation: Thesis (M. Landsc. Arch.)--University of Washington, 2000. BE Library SB 472 Th49272

Homeless encampment : an analysis of Tent Village 3
Author: Michael Joseph Hankinson
Dissertation: Thesis (M. Landsc. Arch.)--University of Washington, 2001. BE Library SB 472 Th50379

Government

King County

Committee to End Homelessness

Seattle City Government

Ten-Year Plan to End Homelessness

Seattle/King County Coalition on Homelessness

Newspapers

Crosscut

Homeless Stories from Crosscut

Real Change Archive

Seattle Times 1900-1984

Seattle Times 1986-present

Seattle homeless shelters shut down in wake of bus changes

Homeless shelters closed to protest transit cuts

Number of homeless students grows in Washington

Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Seattle Weekly Archive

Stranger Archive

Web Sites

Gates Foundation Family Homelessness

MSRC Tent City Temporary Homeless Encampments

Seattle Community Network: Homelessness

KW=homeless encampments; Hoovervilles; Nickelsville; homeless camps Seattle;

Migrancy Adrift

Articles

Biscayne Bay Conceptual Ecological Model

Government

City of Miami

City of Miami Miami River market analysis and economic development study

City of Miami Capital Improvements Program Miami River Greeway NW Fifth Street Bridge Extension

Miami-Dade Metropolitan Planning Organization

Bicycle/Pedestrian Mobility Plan for the Miami Downtown Development Authority Area

Miami Downtown Development Authority

South Florida Water Management District

Miami-Dade County Environmental Resources Management

Miami River Commission

2010 Report of the Commission

Florida Senate Legislation forming the Miami River Commission

General Committee Minutes of the MRC 2011

Greenway Minutes of the MRC 2011

Including the Miami River Corridor in the Strategic Intermodal System Plan

Miami River Greenway Regulatory Design Standards

Web Sites

Sediment Removal Completes Miami River Water Quality Upgrade (2008)

Trust for Public Land Miami River Greenway

Urban Environment League American Institute of Architects on the Miami River

Weston Solutions Miami River Maintenance Dredging, Miami, Florida

KW=Biscayne Bay; Miami River Remediation; Pedestrian access Miami River; public access Miami River;

People/Industry/Infrastructure/History at Lake Union

Article Databases

America History and Life

Environmental Science Collection 68 hits

Books

Emerald City : An Environmental History of Seattle
Author: Matthew W Klingle
Book
Language: English
Publisher: New Haven : Yale University Press, ©2007.

Lake Union Improvement Company photograph album, 1891
Author:     Frank La Roche; Lake Union Improvement Company.; L.H. Griffith Realty and Banking Company.; University of Washington. Libraries. Digital Initiatives Program.
Edition/Format:     Image : Graphic : Photograph : English
Summary:
Lake Union Improvement Company photograph album was prepared for the Lake Union Improvement Company, Seattle, for use as a sales tool by the parent organization, the L.H. Griffith Realty and Banking Company. It contains 24 photographs of Seattle by Frank La Roche, including views of the Elliott Bay waterfront, Lake Union, Lake Washington, downtown street scenes, and street railway construction of the Seattle Electric Railway and Power Company, in which Griffith also held an interest. The album also includes a printed "history of this Improvement Company," a blank share certificate form, a birdseye view of a portion of Seattle, including the development area, and an engraved portrait of L.H. Griffith. Special Collections Photograph collection 33

Legends of the Lake
Author: Dick Wagner; Paul Dorpat; Center for Wooden Boats (Seattle, Wash.)
Publisher: Seattle, WA : Center for Wooden Boats, ©2008- Special Collections F899.S457 W234 2008

v. 1. The lake --
Founding Seattle --
Birth of an industry --
Birth of a metropolis --
The wedding plan --
The boathouses --
The boatshops --
The houseboats --
Blanchard Boats --
The W.T. Preston --
The Prothero Boat Company --
Lake Union, the airport --
Blondie and Dagwood --
The Armory --
Portage Bay --
Grandy Boat Company --
The Jensen Motor Boat Company --
The Center for Wooden Boats

Native Seattle : histories from the Crossing-over Place
Author:     Coll-Peter Thrush
Publisher:     Seattle : University of Washington Press, ©2007.
Series:     Weyerhaeuser environmental book. BE NW Ref 78.W3 T47 2007

Dissertations/Theses

Ecology and architecture : integrating the built and natural environment in South Lake Union
Author: Maximillian Foley
Dissertation: Thesis (M. Arch.)--University of Washington, 2008. BE NA25 Th58324

Government Reports

Environmental impact statement addendum : South Lake Union Park master plan update
Author: Seattle (Wash.). Dept. of Parks and Recreation.
Book : Local government publication
Language: English
Publisher: Seattle, Wash. : The Dept., [2000] Govt Pub TD171.3.P3 E58 Pam ser no.4304

Seattle Commons/South Lake Union Plan : final environmental impact statement
Author: Seattle (Wash.). Office of Management and Planning.
Publisher: Seattle, Wash. : City of Seattle, Office of Management and Planning, [1995] BE HT168.S6 S47 1995

Sediment Toxicity near Gas Works Park, Lake Union, Seattle
Author:     Richard Jack; Washington (State). Dept. of Ecology.
Publisher:     Olympia, WA : Washington State Dept. of Ecology, [2003]
Series:     Publication (Washington (State). Dept. of Ecology), no. 03-03-014. Suzzallo TD878.3.W2 J337 2003

South Lake Union : urban center neighborhood plan, September 2007
Author: Seattle (Wash.). Dept. of Planning and Development.; Seattle (Wash.). Mayor (2002-2010 : Nickels)
Publisher: [Seattle, WA : The City, 2007]

Maps

[Lake Union industrial district]
Author: Kroll Map Company, inc.
Publisher: Seattle, Wash. : Lambuth, Sill & Co., 1928. Maps G 4284 S4:2D46 1928 K7 Shelved as: Size B

Web Sites

City of Seattle Municipal Archives

City of Seattle Parks and Recreation Cheshiahud Lake Union Loop

King County: Major Lakes Monitoring Lake Union

Seattle Public Library Seattle Room

Guerrilla Appropriation and Ecological Design for the Future City

Books

306090 07 : architecture journal, September 2004 : landscape within architecture
Author: Emily Abruzzo; David Lyle Hays; Alexander F Brisen̄o; Jonathan D Solomon; Andrew Yang; All authors
Publisher: [New York, N.Y.] : 306090, Inc. : distributed by Princeton Architectural Press, ©2004

Raymond Isaacs,“The Not-so-secret Agenda of the Landscape Guerilla,” in 306090/07: Landscape within Architecture, Princeton Architectural Press, 2004.

Drosscape : Wasting Land in Urban America
Author: Alan Berger
Publisher: New York : Princeton Architectural Press, ©2006. BE HT167 .B467 2006

Gordon Matta-Clark
Author: Gordon Matta-Clark; Corinne Diserens; Thomas E Crow; Judith Russi Kirshner; Christian Kravagna
Book
Language: English
Publisher: London : Phaidon, 2003. Art, BE N6537.M3947 A4 2003

The Guerilla Art Kit
Author: Keri Smith
Book
Language: English
Publisher: New York : Princeton Architectural Press, ©2007 Tacoma TT157 .S537 2007

Old Cities/Green Cities : Communities Transform Unmanaged Land
Author:     J Blaine Bonham; Gerri Spilka; Darl Rastorfer; American Planning Association.
Publisher:     Chicago, IL : American Planning Association, ©2002.
Series:     Report (American Planning Association. Planning Advisory Service), no. 506/507. BE HT167 .B633 2002

Recycling the City : The Use and Reuse of Urban Land
Author: Rosalind Greenstein; Yesim Sungu-Eryilmaz
Publisher: Cambridge, Mass. : Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, ©2004. Tacoma HT170 .R435 2004

Terra Incognita : Vacant Land and Urban Strategies
Author: Ann O'M Bowman; Michael A Pagano
Publisher: Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, ©2004.

Urban Wildscapes
Author: Anna Jorgensen; Richard Keenan;
Book
Language: English
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2012 Tacoma HT241 .U729 2012

Playing in Industrial Ruins: Interrogating Teleological Understandings of Play in Spaces of Material Alterity and Low Surveillance
Author: Edensor, Timothy J.; Evans, Bethan; Holloway, Julian; Millington, Steve; Binnie, Jon
Book
Language: English
Publication: Edensor, T. J., Evans, B., Holloway. J., Millington, S. and Binnie, J. Playing in industrial ruins: interrogating teleological understandings of play in spaces of material alterity and low surveillance. In A. Jorgensen & R. Keenan, eds. Urban Wildscapes. London: Routledge, 2011
Publisher: Routledge 2011

KW=urban ecologies; vacant lands; squatting; urban wildscapes; industrial archaeology

Government Reports

Vacant residential land in the city of Seattle, 1960
Author:     Seattle Planning Commission.
Publisher:     [Seattle, Wash.] : Seattle City Planning Commission, [1962]
Series:     Current planning research, no. 26. Govt Publications HT168.S6 A335 no.26-40

Sites

Gasworks Park, Highline Park, People's Park Berkeley, Christianshavn, Ruhr Valley Industry; Landschaftpark Duisburg Nord, Ruhr Valley, Germany

Web Sites

Guerilla Gardening in London (New York Times)

Guerilla Landscaping

Planetizen: Sam Hall Kaplan "Guerilla Planning"

Participatory Design of Hing Hay Park Expansion in the International District

Article Databases

America History and Life

"Seattle's International District: The Making of a Pan-Asian American Community." Author: Schiffner, Carli Crozier. Pacific Northwest Quarterly. Mar2003, Vol. 94 Issue 2, p99-100. 2p. Historical Period: 1800 to 1999.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 349 hits participatory design

KW= participatory design; public input; public influence

Disserations/Theses

Author:     Sarfaty, Orit Alcalay
Title     Principles and participatory design : a case study of Seattle Center's 1990 Master Plan workshops / Orit Alcalay Sarfaty
Pub Info     2004 BE Desk NA9000 Th53886

Author:     Kistler, Nicole
Title    Significance of participatory design processes in building ecological literacy : a process oriented post-occupancy evaluation / Nicole Kistler
Pub Info    2002 BE Desk SB472 Th51242

Author:     Wicks, Adrienne Nicole.
Title     A place of making, the making of place : participatory design and research on Orcas Island / Adrienne Nicole Wicks.
Pub Info     2010. BE NA25 Th60543

Author: Micic, Shawna Marie
Title Testing new methods for improving the effectiveness of collaborative and participatory design and planning processes : conceptual content cognitive map (3CM) / by Shawna Marie Micic BE SB 472 Th50489

Government

City of Seattle Parks and Recreation Don Sherwood Collection

Web Sites

Chinatown International District Business Association

City of Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Chinatown-International District

City of Seattle Landmarks Preservation Board

City of Seattle Parks and Recreation Hay Hing Park

Seattle Chinatown International District Preservation Association

Sound Transit Chinatown/ID Station

Wing Luke Museum

KW=participatory design; Hay Hing Park; International District;

Sustainable Food Production on the UW Farm

Academic

Local Foods: From Farm to College and University Foodservice (Iowa State University)

Article Databases

Agricola

Books

Agropolis : the social, political, and environmental dimensions of urban agriculture
Author: Luc J A Mougeot
Publisher: Ottawa, Canada : International Development Research Centre ; London ; Sterling, VA : Earthscan, 2005. Tacoma S494.5.U72 A44 2005

Agriculture in urban planning : generating livelihoods and food security
Author: Mark Redwood
Publisher: Ottawa, ON : International Development Research Centre ; London ; Sterling, VA : Earthscan, 2009. Tacoma S494.5.U72 A42 2009

Government

City of Seattle Office of Sustainability and Environment

King County Agriculture Program

Puget Sound Regional Council Regional Food Policy Council

Newspapers

New York Times Urban Agriculture

Twin Cities Daily Planet Urban Agriculture

Web Sites

American Planning Association Food Policy Councils

American Farmland Trust Washington

MRSC Urban Agriculture (Great array of links)

MRSC Planning: PL 5.2300 - Agricultural, farmland preservation, right to farm, urban agriculture (Ordinances, position papers)