Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Landscape Architecture: LArch 590A Fall 2011

Subject Guide for Landscape Architecture Students.

Aligning Green Stormwater Infrastructure and Walk.Bike.Ride on Seattle’s Ballard Plateau

Article Databases:

Books:

  • WorldCat: keywords= Stormwater, Ground Run-off, Waste Water, Runoff -- Management, Groundwater -- Pollution, Urban Runoff -- Management, Water Quality Management, Storm Sewers
  • Title:         Municipal Stormwater Management
    Author:     Thomas N Debo; Andrew J Reese
    Publisher:     Boca Raton, Fla. : Lewis Publishers, 2003

Web Sites:

Claiming Public Open Space in a Heterogeneous High-Density City North Sichuan Road, Shanghai

Article Databases:

Books:

  • WorldCat Keywords: Shanghai urban planning, City planning -- China -- Shanghai, Shanghai (China) -- History, Yanan Green Space, Open Space, Public Squares, Dongtan: Shanghai, China
  • Title: Shanghai urban public space (Also look at book reviews on this book)
    Author:     Anke Haarmann, [coordination and editing] = 上海城市公共空间 / 韩妙客编辑. ; ; Anke Haarmann
    Publisher:     Berlin : Jovis, 2009.
    Edition/Format:      Book : Chinese
    Database:     WorldCat
  • Title: Shanghai : architecture and urbanism for modern China
    Author:     Peter G Rowe; Seng Kuan
    Publisher:     Munich ; New York : Prestel, 2004.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title:         Shanghai rising : state power and local transformations in a global megacity
    Author:      Xiangming Chen
    Publisher:     Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, 2009.
    Series:     Globalization and community, v. 15.
    Edition/Format:      Book : State or province government publication : English
    Database: ArticleFirst
  • Title:         Shanghai reflections : architecture, urbanism and the search for an alternative modernity : essays
    Author:      Mario Gandelsonas; M A Abbas; M Christine Boyer
    Publisher:     New York : Princeton Architectural Press, 2002.
    Series:     Princeton papers on architecture, 3.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English : 1st ed
  • Title: Shanghai urban planning
    Author:     Wujun Liu; Xiang Huang
    Publisher:     Singapore : Thomson, 2007.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Shanghai
    Author:     Alan Balfour; Shiling Zheng
    Publisher:     Chichester, West Sussex : Wiley-Academy, 2002.
    Series:     World cities.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
    Database:     WorldCat
  • Title:  Sustainable urbanism : urban design with nature
    Author:     Douglas Farr
    Publisher:     Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, ©2008.
    Series:     Wiley book on sustainable design.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: China's emerging cities : the making of new urbanism
    Author:     Fulong Wu
    Publisher:     Abingdon, Oxon ; N.Y., NY : Routledge, 2007.
    Series:     Routledge contemporary China series, 26.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English

Web Sites:


Creativity and Landscape Design Process

Article Databases:

Books:

  • Title: Landscape : pattern, perception, and process
    Author:     Simon Bell
    Publisher:     New York : E & FN Spon, 1999.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: The process of landscape design
    Author:     Seamus W Filor
    Publisher:     London : Batsford, 1991.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Drawing the landscape
    Author:     Chip Sullivan
    Publisher:     Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley, ©2004.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English : 3d ed
  • Title: Landscape graphics : plan, section, and perspective drawing of landscape spaces
    Author:     Grant W Reid
    Publisher:     New York, NY : Watson-Guptill Publications, 2002.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English : Rev. ed
    Database:     WorldCat
  • Title: Residential landscape architecture : design process for the private residence
    Author:     Norman K Booth; James E Hiss
    Publisher:     Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, ©2002.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English : 3rd ed
  • Title: Site planning and design handbook
    Author:     Thomas H Russ
    Publisher:     New York : McGraw-Hill, ©2009.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English : 2nd edView all editions and formats
    Database:     WorldCat

Web Sites:

Other:

  • Videotape: Landscape Design Proces  Author: Vocational Education Productions.; Idea Bank. Publisher: San Luis Obispo, Calif. : Vocational Education Productions, ©1987 Series: Landscape design series, v. 2.; Career series Edition/Format: VHS video : VHS tape  Visual material : English

Dig Studio: Industrial Sites and the Changing Boundaries

Article Databases:

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (37 articles on Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord;  144 articles on High Line Park; 20 articles on Gas Works Park; 111 articles on Field Operations: Urbanism Landscape)
  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database
  • "From land art to landscape urbanism Analyses on High Line Park in New York from the perspective of conceptual changes of industrial heritage conservation and reuse,"  Author: Sun Yuan, Nobuo, A., Zhang Tianjie 
    Sch. of Archit., Tianjin Univ., Tianjin, China
    Electric Technology and Civil Engineering (ICETCE), 2011 International Conference on
    Issue Date: 22-24 April 2011
    On page(s): 5083 - 5086

Books:

  • Title: Richard Haag : Bloedel Reserve and Gas Works Park
    Author:     William S Saunders; Patrick M Condon; Gary R Hilderbrand; Elizabeth K Meyer
    Publisher:     New York : Princeton Architectural Press ; [Cambridge, Mass.] : Harvard Graduate School of Design, ©1998.
    Series:     Landscape views, 1.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Redeveloping industrial sites : a guide for architects, planners, and developers
    Author:     Carol Berens
    Publisher:     Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, ©2011.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Manufactured sites : rethinking the post-industrial landscape
    Author:     Niall Kirkwood
    Publisher:     London ; New York : Spon Press, 2001.
    Edition/Format:      Book : EnglishView all editions and formats
    Database:     WorldCat
  • Thesis title: Concepts of landscape and the reclamation of an urban artifact : the Highline, West Chelsea, New York, N.Y.
    Author:     Anne Michelle Dutton
    Publisher:     2003.
    Dissertation:     Thesis (M. Arch.) -- University of Maryland, College Park, 2003

Web Sites:

Other:

  • Manufactured landscapes : Edward Burtynsky
    Author:     Jennifer Baichwal; Nick De Pencier; Daniel Iron; Edward Burtynsky; Mercury Films Inc.; All authors
    Publisher:     Montreal, Quebec : National Film Board of Canada ; [New York, NY] : Distributed by Zeitgeist Films, ©2007.
    Edition/Format:      DVD video : NTSC color broadcast system

Health and Design in Post-Industrial/Rust Belt Cities

Article Databases:

Books:

Web Sites:

Management and Monitoring of Wetland Plants and Structures

Article Databases:

  • Journal Title: Wetlands Ecology and Management
    Publisher:     [Dordrecht] : Kluwer Academic Publishers
    Edition/Format:      eJournal/eMagazine : Document : Periodical : EnglishView all editions and formats
    Database:     WorldCat

Books:

  • WorldCat Keywords: Wetlands Management, Wetland ecology -- Periodicals, Wetlands -- Management -- Periodicals. Écologie des zones humides. Biotopschutz, Feuchtgebiet.
  • Title: Wetlands
    Author:     Sharon L Spray; Karen L McGlothlin
    Publisher:     Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, ©2004.
    Series:     Exploring environmental challenges.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Wetland plants : biology and ecology
    Author:     J K Cronk; M Siobhan Fennessy
    Publisher:     Boca Raton, Fla. : Lewis Publishers, ©2001.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Wetland plants of Oregon & Washington
    Author:     B Jennifer Guard; John A Christy; Trygve Steen
    Publisher:     Redmond, Wash. : Vancouver : Lone Pine Pub., ©1995.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: Plants in wetlands
    Author:     Charles B Redington
    Publisher:     Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., ©1994.
    Series:     Redington field guides to biological interactions.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English
  • Title: A field guide to the common wetland plants of western Washington & northwestern Oregon
    Author:     Sarah Spear Cooke
    Publisher:     Seattle, Wash. : Seattle Audubon Society : Washington Native Plant Society, ©1997.

Web Sites:

Maximizing the Adaptive Capacity of Snow-fed Watersheds

Article Databases:

Books:

Web Sites:

Urban Fringe in Rural Communities: the Key to Sustainable Development

Visual Absorption Capability and Landscape Resource Management

Article Databases:

Books:

  • WorldCat Keywords: Visual Absorption Capability, Landscape assessment.
  • Title: Visual absorption capability in the Blue Range study area : an assessment procedure for Victoria's forest landscapes
    Author:     Dennis Williamson
    Publisher:     [Melbourne] : Forests Commission, Victoria, 1981.
    Edition/Format:      Book : State or province government publication : English
  • Dissertation Title: The visual screening effects of forest vegetation: a pilot study for the development of a visual absorption capability assessment procedure for Massachusetts.
    Author:     Dennis Neale Williamson
    Publisher:     1977.
    Dissertation:     Thesis (M.L.A.)--University of Massachusetts, 1977.
    Edition/Format:      Thesis/dissertation : Manuscript  Archival Material : English
  • Title: Visual absorption capability (VAC) : some thoughts on the current state of the art
    Author:     Dennis N Williamson
    Publisher:     Amherst, Mass. : [Dept of Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning, University of Massachusetts], 1976.
    Edition/Format:      Book : English

Web Sites:

Wetlands Forest Environmental Education Center

Articles:

  • Art Index
    • Title: Wet Park: Mercer Slough demonstrates the value of preserving wetlands in the city.
      Author:     Mark Hinshaw
      Publisher:     2009
      Edition/Format:     Article Article : English
      Publication:    Landscape Architecture, v. 99 no6 (June 2009) p. 24, 26, 28, 30-1
      Database:     Art Abstracts
      Summary:    
      Mercer Slough, on the east side of Lake Washington, is a 320-acre natural area owned by the city of Bellevue and maintained as a part of its extensive park and greenbelt system. The city commissioned Seattle-based Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects to prepare a master plan for the park with a seven-mile network of trails, canoe trails along the waterways, some wetland-dependent agriculture, wildlife habitat, and an interpretive center. Jones & Jones also integrated a number of sustainability principles into the design of the site, including equipment for capturing surface water runoff and directing it into catchment areas. The project, which pokes a mile and a half into the heart of the city, demonstrates the value of preserving wetlands in the city.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Author(s):      Tamir, Karen.
      Title:     Rio Piedras restoration project [San Juan, Puerto Rico] /
      Source:     Topos: the international review of landscape architecture and urban design 2007, n.59, p.67-73
      Standard No:     ISSN: 0942-752X
      Details:     photos., sections, maps, site plans, diagrams, computer drawings.
      Language:     English
    • Author(s):      Ryker, Lori.
      Title:     "studi"EAUX Wetland Workshop.
      Source:     Journal of architectural education 2010 Sept., v.64, n.1, p.121-128
      Standard No:     ISSN: 1046-4883
      Details:     photos., drawings.
      Language:     English
      Abstract:     The School of Architecture at the University of Louisiana Lafayette (ULL) has this workshop studying wetlands of southern Louisiana. StudiEAUX
    • Author(s):      Joshi, Anupam.
      Title:     Yamuna Biodiversity Park [Delhi, India] /
      Source:     Journal of landscape architecture (India) 2005 Winter, v.3, n.4(12), p.12-14
      Details:     photos., aerial photos., site plans.
      Language:     English
      Abstract:     Educational park, nature preserve and stormwater management wetlands. A depository of over 30 ecosystems, the park shelters endangered species and migratory birds. Article includes list of plant communities. Designed by the landscape unit of the local Development Authority.
    • Author(s):      Larsen, Paul.
      Title:     A center that is not just for the birds [Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge, Utah] /
      Source:     Urban land 2006 Apr., v.65, n.4, p.108-109
      Standard No:     ISSN: 0042-0891
      Details:     photos.
      Language:     In English.
      Abstract:     "The Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge is home to a new wildlife education center aimed at increasing awareness of conservation issues, as well as bringing economic benefits to the region." The Refuge was created by an act of Congress in 1928, and occupies 74,000 acres of uplands, wetlands and open water. It was subject to natural flooding in the 1980s that nevertheless damaged freshwater habitats and park buildings which are still in the process of being repaired and restored.

Books:

  • WorldCat Keywords: Wetlands interpretive center design

Web Sites:

Architecture Librarian

Profile Photo
Alan Michelson
Contact:
Gould Hall

Third Floor

Box 355730

206.543.7091
Website
Subjects: Built Environments