Getting StartedLibrary Services
Full List of Related Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Library and Information Science 

Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/libraryscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find e-Journals             Print Page
  
 

LIS E-Journal Keywords

Try using these keywords to search for e-journals related to Library and Information Science.

  • Library
  • Library Science
  • Information Science
  • Knowledge Organization
  • Information
  • Librar*

Note: a wildcard (*) is used to search for all variations on the base of a keyword. For example, a search for the keyword "Librar*" would automatically include searches for keywords such as "Library" and "Librarian."

 

Browse/Search E-Journals

Browse e-journal title: 0-A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | Ja-Jn | Jo-Jz | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z

Can't find your journal? It might be available in print. Search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Catalog. Questions? Contact Us.

 
 

Library and Information Science E-Journals

Scholarly journals are in-depth research reports written for a specific academic audience.

Most scholarly journals are refereed or peer-reviewed, meaning that they have been vetted as accurate by other specialists prior to publication. There are numerous scholarly journals that occasionally or often touch on topics related to Library and Information Science, and thus which may be valuable to students doing LIS research.

Additional Information

  • Many scholarly journals are now available online, through the UW Libraries website.
  • You can quickly search for journal titles using the UW Libraries Catalog, by selecting "Journals" from the drop-down menu, instead of "Entire Collection."
  • For a full list of e-journals at the UW Libraries, visit the "Electronic Journals" page.

Starting Points for LIS E-Journals

Because there are hundreds of e-journals that touch on topics that may be of interests to LIS, it is often helpful for students to begin their research by browsing an LIS article or journal index.

The following are links to some well known LIS indexes. Please take some time to browse these indexes, using keywords that relate to your ultimate research topic.

 

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  
    Coverage includes library science, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. [UW restricted]
  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)  
    Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present. [UW restricted]
  • Library Literature & Information Science  
    Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States. [UW restricted]
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageNancy Huling
Click to Chat with a UW librarian


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Suzzallo 164
685-2211
Send Email

Subjects:
Library Science, Information Science, Information Management

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait