Getting StartedLibrary Services
Full List of Related Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Library and Information Science 

Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/libraryscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Further Information

 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

Search Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 
 

Find Article Databases by Title or Subject

The journal article is a major form of scholarly communication in the field of LIS. To start finding LIS-related articles, browse the databases & print resources suggested below.

Starting Points for Library and Information Science

For a more extensive list, see the "Full List of LIS Databases" page.

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  
    Coverage includes library science, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. [UW restricted]
  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)  
    Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present. [UW restricted]
  • Library Literature & Information Science  
    Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States. [UW restricted]
  • Academic OneFile  
    A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subject; intended primarily for academic researchers.[UW restricted]
  • Google Scholar  
    Google Scholar is a large but uneven collection of bibliographic citations across a wide range of subject areas. It includes a number of repositories as well as contributions from scholarly publishers. You can set up Google Scholar to locate full-text online articles available to you through the UW Libraries. View the brief tutorial just below this box.
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageNancy Huling
Click to Chat with a UW librarian


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Suzzallo 164
685-2211
Send Email

Subjects:
Library Science, Information Science, Information Management

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait