Chemical Pricing
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry chemical_information chemistry_library  

This page offers selected resources and researching tips for those looking for chemical information and chemistry research.
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Chemical Pricing             Print Page
  

Chemical Producers

Finding Chemical Prices is a challenge. If you are looking to actually buy a chemical and need a price, you really need to go through the producer.

  • SciFinder Scholar  
    SciFinder Scholar is an intelligent interface which helps users to easily search the extensive Chemical Abstracts Databases. Searches can be done by subject phrases, author names and chemical identification such as structure/substructure, reactions, molecular formulae and more. Provides links for commercial producers of many chemicals. Ask if you need assistance using this tool.
  • Chem Sources-USA  
    (TP12 C442). A good print source.
  • Chemical Suppliers on the Web  

Finding Historical Prices

There are many resources for finding historical prices of many chemicals. Encyclopedias like Kirk-Othmer and many journals provide excellent coverage.

Finding Bulk Pricing

It is possible but very difficult to find current bulk pricing. Foster Business Library's Home page provides quick links to some tools which can be useful, including EBSCO Business Source Complete (below). Try searching by the chemical name and the keyword `prices'. Keep in mind that these are business databases and not chemical databases. Be sure to try chemical synonyms if you don't succeed on the first search and be careful with initialisms and abbreviations. The librarians at Foster can be of assitance in using this database and may be able to recommend further sources.

  • EBSCO Business Source Complete  
    Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
    [UW restricted]

  • ICIS Indicative Chemical Prices A-Z  
    Another resource which is not kept up to date but is still useful. It was developed for students and comes from a 2006 issue of the Chemical Marketing Reporter.
 

Chemistry Librarian

Profile ImageSusanne Redalje
Contact Info:
Reference & Research Services
Room 163
Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
(206) 543-2070
Send Email

Subjects:
Chemical Information

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait