About this Guide
This Guide compliments the basic research materials suggested in the Southeast Asian Studies Subject Guide. Its broad focus is on vernacular language materials from the region and more specialized research materials
Introduction to the Collection
Southeast Asia Advanced Research Pages
Southeast Asia materials are located throughout the Suzzallo and Allen Libraries, and other branch libraries. Most book and audio-visual materials can be found through the on-line catalog. Some vernacular language material is not fully catalogued, but can be found as an order record through an author or title search in the library catalog. Uncatalogued materials will be catalogued upon request, using the Request button.
The Southeast Asian Studies librarian is available for Reference assistance most days on a drop-in basis, or by appointment.
HISTORY OF COLLECTION
The Section was established as a separate unit in September 1989. It supports the campus Southeast Asian Studies Program. The UW Libraries is a member of the SEAWest library consortium, including University of Oregon, University of British Columbia, Universities of California at Berkeley and Los Angeles and the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Under the agreements of this consortium, the University of Washington Libraries maintains strong collections in the following areas:
- Indonesia
- Laos
- Malaysia
- Vietnam (with particular emphasis on regional materials from the South)
- Thailand
COLLECTION DESCRIPTION
The University of Washington Collection supports teaching of Burmese, Indonesian, Khmer, Thai and Vietnamese languages and curriculum activities, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
* Significant elements of the collection are government publications, serials, or are published in microform format.
* Books are shelved according to the library classification schemes, Library of Congress, or the Dewey classification for older materials.
COLLECTION STRENGTHS AND AREAS OF COLLECTING FOCUS
* Anthropology and religion of Thailand, with an emphasis on Northeast Thailand.
* Human rights and law in Southeast Asia.
* Dutch and French colonial scholarship and vernacular press from the 1930s in Indonesia and Vietnam.
* Modern Vietnamese history and society, and the American period in Vietnam.
* Serials and government publications from the American colonial period in the Philippines, and Filipino-American collections.
The Southeast Asia Section office is located in Room 131, on the 1st floor of the Suzzallo Library. The office is usually open from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., but patrons are advised to call to make an appointment: 543-3986.
Southeast Asian Studies Section |
Contact Info Judith Henchy Head, Southeast Asia Section Box 352900 University of Washington Libraries Seattle, WA 98195 Telephone: (206) 543 3986 Fax: (206) 685 8049 Send Email |




Loading...
