Find BooksFind Scores
Find AudioFind Video
Find ManuscriptsFind UW Music Special CollectionsFind Early Editions
Dictionaries & EncyclopediasJazz/BluesOpera/MusicalsMusic Theory
This is the "Find UW Music Special Collections" page of the "Music Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Guide  

Quick access to the top music resources
Last Updated: May 3, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Find UW Music Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections Hours

Music Library special collections (manuscripts, audio collections) are available:

During the quarter: M - F, 8 am to 5 pm

Intersession: M - F, 1-5 pm

To ensure availability, please contact us prior to your planned visit.

 

Music Manuscripts at UW

- The UW music manuscripts included in RISM A/II (1600-1850) can be found online at http://content.lib.washington.edu/mmweb/, in the printed catalog: UsSu, the University of Washington, Seattle, Music Library, thematic catalogue of music in manuscript (Music Ref Island ML113 .I6 Ser. A/II pt. US Su), or they can be searched in the RISM A/II online catalog or the UW Online catalog.

- Music Manuscripts after 1850 could be found at the UW Catalog

Photocopy Request Form

Permission must be obtained from the librarian before copying (photocopy, photograph, or other means).  Please fill out the form below:

 

UW Music Special Collections

Collection Content Access Information
Rare Music Scores Rare facsimile, manuscript and first edition scores Search the UW-only catalog
Music Archives UW Faculty papers Contact Special Collections
Crocodile Cafe Recorded at the Café between May 2002 and December 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson Contact the UW Media Center
Melvin Harris Collection Early recordings of wind instruments performances Contact musiclib@uw.edu
Milton Katims Tapes & Scores Tape performances conducted by Milton Katims and marked conductor scores For tapes, contact musiclib@uw.edu
For scores, contact Special Collections
Hazel G. Kinscella Collection Early American Hymnals and tune books Search the online catalog and retrieve items at the circulation desk in RM 113
Moldenhauer Archives Not held at UW Please see ML93.R67 2000 for location of manuscript materials
Music of Northwest Composers Recordings of music of select Northwest Composers performed by Joel Salsman Contact musiclib@uw.edu
Puget Sounds Documents the kaleidoscopic nature of music performed and produced in the Puget Sound region Contact the UW Media Center
Offenbacher Mozart Collection Early recordings of the vocal music of Mozart Search the online 10 inch 78 list or the 12 inch 78 list and contact musiclib@uw.edu. Also search the list of available LP's.
School of Music Faculty Papers Papers, compositions, and recordings of present and former faculty members Please contact the University Archives
School of Music Recordings School of Music ensemble recordings Contact musiclib@uw.edu
Vilem Sokol Scores Marked conductor scores Contact Special Collections
Soni Ventorum Parts & Recordings Marked performance parts and performance recordings Contact Special Collections for marked parts and the Music Library for recordings.
Music of Gloria Swisher Recordings of Swisher's music performed by Joel Salsman For recordings, contact musiclib@uw.edu
 

Rules for Using Special Collections

·         All users must present either a valid UW ID or a picture ID card (for example, a valid driver’s license).

 

·         Do not leave these items unattended at any time.  If you must leave the table, give the item(s) to library staff first.

 

·         Never place anything on top of special collections materials, or press the bindings open.

 

·         Only pencils are allowed for taking notes.

 

·         Tracing of watermarks is not allowed.

 

·         Photocopying of special collections materials is not allowed without permission of a librarian.

 

·         All users will be provided with gloves for handling rare and special collections materials.

Libraries Home
Privacy
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip