Oxford Music Online
Search The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
[UW restricted]
Jazz Resources
- Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research, a compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations.
[UW restricted] - Jazz Discography
[UW restricted]
Instrument Dating
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research, a compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations.
[UW restricted] - Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
[UW restricted] - The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
[UW restricted] - Oxford Music Online
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music.
[UW restricted] - Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
This biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of music terms, a table of best-selling music since 1990 and more.
[UW restricted] - Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world. [UW restricted]
Tune Finders
Opera & Musical Resources
- Dictionary of Opera Characters
From Aeneas to Zaida, A Dictionary of Opera Characters s provides extensive coverage of all the characters in operas from around the world and gives synopses for over 200 operas and operettas. [UW restricted] - The Grove Book of Operas
[UW restricted] - The New Grove Book of Opera Singers
[UW restricted] - Oxford Companion to the American Musical
This guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. The Companion also includes cross references, a comprehensive listing of recommended recordings and further reading, a useful chronology of all the musicals described in the book, plus a complete index of Tony Award and Academy Award winners.
[UW restricted]
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait