Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Drama 

Drama resources including production resources, digital collections, image collections, costume resources, plays and monologues.
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/drama  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Plays & Monologues             Print Page
  
 

Monologues

Collections of monologues and scenes are shelved in the Monologue Section of the Drama Library, which is next to the current periodicals and open reserves. You may browse the section and there are several indexes available. There are also a number of notebooks compiled by Drama TAs with suggestions for monologues.

 

Acting Editions

Plays with the call number ActEd_____ are shelved together in the Drama Library in the open stacks and shelved alphabetically by the ActEd number.

Most acting editions offer a copy of the play text with more extensive stage directions than found elsewhere. If the show moved from regional theatre to New York or from Off-Broadway to Broadway you may find information on the production history for both productions. More information about acting editions

Digital Play Resources

  • Black Drama  
    [UW restricted]
    An online collection of plays written by African American playwrights. You can search Black Drama by a variety of criteria including subject, keyword, etc.
  • North American Indian Drama  
    [UW restricted]
    An online collection of plays written by American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century. You can search North American Indian Drama by a variety of criteria including subject, keyword, etc.
  • Theatre in Video with BBC Shakespeare  
    [UW restricted]
    Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
 
 

UW Catalog


[advanced search]
 

Plays in Collections & Journals

Because the on-line system may not always identify plays appearing in collections and anthologies, the Drama Library staff provides indexing of plays. We are converting this information to a database but at present the best way to search for plays is in the card catalogue by title.

Card Catalogue Information

  • author
  • play title
  • book or magazine where the play appears
  • call number -- includes the volume and issue number on magazines
  • translator --provided on plays indexed since 1976

Suggestions for Plays and Monologues

  • Play Index  
    [UW restricted]
    Play Index lets you search for information about plays by many criteria such as subject of the play, genre, keywords, number of characters, etc.

    To search for monologues, type "monologues" in the subject search box.

  • Playscripts, Inc.  
    Playscripts, Inc. is an online publisher of new plays. You can search for plays by different criteria but be aware that you'll have to pay for the plays.
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait