Bibliography, Discography & other Online Publications
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,209 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
[UW restricted] - Current Bibliography, Discography, Filmography, and Videography
- British Library Sound Archive "International Music Connection"
- Ethnomusicology Forum
- Cahiers des musiques traditionnelles
- European Meetings in EthnomusicologyRomanian Society for Ethnomusicology
- FolkLib Index: A Library of Folk Music Links
- English Folk Dance and Song Society
- portail ethnomusicologie
- RootsWorld
- Univ. of Chicago Press: Chicago Studies in Ethnomusicology
- Verlag Ernst Kuhnethno antiquariat
- World Music Central
- Discography of recorded Tuvan, Mongolian, and Siberian Music
- Recent Recordings of Traditional Music from the Arabian
- Music of Algeria: Selected Recordings
- New Recordings of Turkish Classical Music
- Discography of Arab and Turkish Classical Music
Comments (0)
e-Journals in Ethnomusicology
- Asian Music
- Black Music Research Journal[UW restricted]
- The Black Perspective in Music[UW restricted]
- British Journal of Ethnomusicology[UW restricted]
- Bulletin of Italian Ethnomusicology[UW restricted]
- Descarga
- Ethnomusicology[UW restricted]
- Ethnomusicology Online
- Folk Music Journal[UW restricted]
- Folklore and Folk Music Archivist[UW restricted]
- Journal of Popular Music Studies[UW restricted]
- Journal of the English Folk Dance and Song Society[UW restricted]
- Journal of the International Folk Music Council[UW restricted]
- The Music Magazine (India)
- Music & Anthropology
- Musical Traditions[UW restricted]
- ntama- Journal of African Music and Poular Culture
- Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology
- RPM Online- The Review of Popular Music
- Trans: transcultural music review = revista transcultural de música
- World of Music
Recordings & Videos
- Smithsonian Global SoundPublished recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Collections from Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University Archive Research Centre for Indian Studies.
[UW restricted] - Music OnlineWide variety of musical styles in streaming audio.
[UW restricted] - Listening PostRobert Garfias. "mini-reviews" and recommended listening not confined to ethnomusicological recordings
- Robert Garfias - Films and Field Recordings
- AIMP (Archives internationales de musique populaire) Collection of Geneva Ethnographic Museum from ADEM
- Afropop Worldwide
- Allegro Imports World music catalog
- Alula records
- Ara-music: Arabic Music
- ARC Music
- Arhoolie
- Ateliers d'ethnomusicologie
- Bear Family
- beatofindia.com
- barraka el farnatshi recordings from Morroco
- Bishop Museum
- calabash music
- Canyon Records
- celestial harmonies
- Center Records
- Descarga
- Deep Down Productions
- eworldsrecords
- Folkloric and WorldBeat Music
- Indian House
- American Folklife Center. Library of Congress
- Lyrichord World Music
- Maison des Cultures du Monde
- Multicultural Media
- Mhumbi records
- Mundo Etnico Anthology of Pacific Music
- Oliver Sudden Productions
- Onzou Records West Africa
- Putumayo World Music
- RootsWorld
- Rounder Records Catalogue By label from the Rounder Record Group
- Smithsonian/Folkways
- Sonic Safari Music
- Sublime frequencies
- Hugh Tracey, ILAM, Compact Discs
- Temple Records
- Topic
- Traditional Crossroads
- UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music of the World
- Village Pulse
- World Music Store/Multicultural Media
- World Music Central
- EVIA Digital Archive Project
FEEDBACK
Music Special Projects Librarian (Retired) |
Contact Info Sand Point Library Facility Bay D Rm. 130 (206)616-0493 (206)543-1168 http://faculty.washington.edu/gibbs Send Email |
Head, Distributed Media |
Contact Info UW Libraries Media Center Suzzallo Library - Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 (206) 616-1210 Send Email |
Music Research Services/Assistant Outreach Services Librarian |
Contact Info Music Library University of Washington Box 353450 Seattle, WA 98195 (206) 543-1159 Send Email Librarians with related expertise:: Judy Tsou, John Gibbs |












Loading...
