Research Guides
Music History 212 (Spring 2014): Finding Sources
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are great sources for:
- obtaining background on a topic
- providing additional terms related to your topic that could be used to search an article database
- Oxford Music OnlineIncludes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music.
[UW restricted] - Gale Virtual Reference
This link opens in a new window
Searches a variety of encyclopedias on many different topics. Includes numerous subject specific reference sources (encyclopedias with more in-depth coverage). Entries contain reference lists for further reading.
Articles
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications on music from around the world, 1967 to present. Use the RILM Classifications to perform a broad topical search. - Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from hundreds of international music periodicals, 1976 to present.
- E-Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers are great sources for recording and concert reviews. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides online fulltext of the complete back runs (older issues) of journals dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music. Particularly useful for searching journal articles written before the 1960's and 1970's.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current issues of more than 100 scholarly journals primarily in the humanities & social sciences.