Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

An introduction to databases and tools for sociology research
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles & E-Journals             Print Page
  

Sociology e-journals

 

Browse/Search E-Journals

Browse e-journal title: 0-A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | Ja-Jn | Jo-Jz | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z

Can't find your journal? It might be available in print. Search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Catalog. Questions? Contact Us.

Popular e-journal packages

  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.
    [UW restricted]
  • Science Direct  
    Current issues of scholarly journals published primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
    [UW restricted]
 
 

Searching for articles by topic

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. The following databases are good places to search for sociology literature published in both scholarly journals and popular magazines.Some databases also include references to other materials, such as books, book chapters, and dissertations.

For additional databases in related disciplines such as American ethnic studies or psychology, see Articles & Research Databases.

Starting points for Sociology

  • Sociological Abstracts  
    The best single index for Sociology journal articles; also covers conference papers and dissertations.
    [UW restricted]
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)  
    Excellent interdisciplinary Social Science coverage; can answer "who has cited this book or article?"
    [UW restricted]
  • Academic Search Complete  
    Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
    [UW restricted]
  • Academic OneFile (Gale)  
    Trial access until 6/30/11. Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
    [UW restricted]
  • Sociology e-journals, A - Z  
    A list of all UW e-journal subscriptions in sociology
 
 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait