Dance and Computers
This is an example of how to search for information on a particular topic in dance. You can generalize the steps to fit your research question.
Research Process
I. Background information or getting the lay of the land
Reference Resources
- For some topics, you may want to consult a subject-specific reference book such as International Encyclopedia of Dance or the Oxford Dictionary of Dance which are available online.
You can search Oxford Reference Online (which includes International Encyclopedia of Dance, Oxford Dictionary of Dance and other performing arts reference resources) from this box. A pop-up window will appear with the results.
[UW restricted]
For additional resources, click on the "Reference Resources" tab in this guide.
UW Catalog Search
-
Keyword search for computer* and dance
- Think about synonyms for the terms you're using. In this example, you could also use technology or even multimedia although both are broader terms.
- * is a truncation symbol which replaces up to 5 characters; ** replaces an unlimited number of characters
- Take a look at the Dance Subject Headings page under "Find Books" in this guide
-
Keyword vs. subject headings searches:
- In general, if the system lets you browse a list of subject headings or if it will give you options for subject headings like the online catalog does, then you may want to do a subject search rather than a keyword search; if not, use the keyword search to retrieve relevant records and then click on the subject headings if they're provided.
New York Public Library Dance Collection Catalog
- Keyword search for computer* (don't have to specify dance)
- "Merce Cunningham: a lifetime of Dance" (UW owns this: look at the UW record)
- Life Forms
- Subject Heading - Life Forms (Computer program)
- Another SH - (Computers--Dance applications)
- also Life Forms (Computer file)
- Life Forms (Computer program)
- "Applications"
- Life Forms and PreVIEW
- PreVIEW (Computer program)
- Computer dance
- "Applications"
- May also want to do a subject search for computer* to see what other subject headings are available if you're not finding what you need.
At this point, you may want to go back into the UW catalog to see if any of the resources you've found in the NYPL Dance Collection Catalog are available at UW or through Summit. You may need to request items through Interlibrary Loan.
II. Too Little or Too Much Information
If you are getting too many hits, you may need to narrow your search by focusing on subsets of the information you've found. If you are getting too few hits, you may need to broaden your search. The following graphic gives an example.

- Keyword search for Life Forms and dance
- Calvert, T.W. (comes up twice / may want to search using this author)
- "Composition of multiple figure sequences for dance and animation"
- COMPOSE computer program
- "Composition of multiple figure sequences for dance and animation"
- Calvert, T.W. (comes up twice / may want to search using this author)
IV. Now you have a list of search terms:
- Life Forms
- PreVIEW
- COMPOSE
- Merce Cunningham
- T.W. Calvert (or Tom Calvert or T. Calvert or Calvert T*)
V. Periodical Databases Part 2: Arts and Humanities Databases
You may also want to look at databases in the humanities besides the ones listed for dance. If you're looking for information on dance from a cultural/historical point of view, you may want to use America: History and Life or Historical Abstracts. If you're looking for information on dance injuries, for example, you may want to use SportDiscus or another health/medical database.
Research Library Complete (Proquest)
- Life Forms and Cunningham
- Life Forms and dance
- "Life in the Fast Lane"
- Find a Copy
- Expanded Academic Index
- Find a Copy
- "Life in the Fast Lane"
If "Find a Copy" or "Check UW Holdings" or a similiar link is not available, go to the E-Journals page and search for the title. If it's not available electronically, search the online catalog.
- "merce cunningham" and "life forms"
- "Gotta dance: a weekend of kinetic treats"
- "...Elliot Caplan and Simon Fraser University in New England on the innovative LifeForms and DanceForms programs..."
- "Gotta dance: a weekend of kinetic treats"
Due to this search, you may need to revise your terms to include "LifeForms" (alternate spelling) and "DanceForms" and the name "Elliot Caplan".
VI. Searching for Dissertations
Good sources for bibliographies
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
- Life Forms and dance
- An exploration of Life FormsRTM-generated choreography and computer-enhanced dance performance
- Lifeforms and dance
- A study of on-line collaborative choreography using LifeForms and Internet communication
- A case study of Merce Cunningham's use of the lifeforms computer choreographic system in the making of 'Trackers'
UW dissertations are available in the University Libraries (at least one circulating copy); UW dissertations produced after 1997 are available online for free through UMI as are most dissertations not produced by UW after 1997. To get copies of dissertations not produced at UW and not available online, in general, request through Interlibrary Loan. Sometimes libraries purchase copies of select dissertations for their collections so check the online catalog first.
VII. Internet Searches
Some choreographers have their own web pages.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait