Corpora & Language Study Dictionaries 
Australian Literature Canadian LiteratureNew Zealand Literature
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

English  Tags: english_literature literary_criticism  

This guide recommends resources for research in English language studies, British and American literature, and other literatures written in English.
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles/E-Journals             Print Page
  
 

Browse/Search E-Journals

Browse e-journal title: 0-A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | Ja-Jn | Jo-Jz | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z

Can't find your journal? It might be available in print. Search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Catalog. Questions? Contact Us.

More about the MLA International Bibliography

View tips for effective searching and details on content included.  Use the Directory of Periodicals to get information about journals in the bibliography.

 

Starting Points for Finding Literary Criticism in Periodicals

The following databases are good places to search for literary criticism and book reviews published in both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Note that some databases also include references to other materials, such as books and dissertations. 

  • MLA International Bibliography  
    The most comprehensive source for literary scholarship, covering academic journals, chapters in books, dissertations, and websites pertaining to the study of literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Includes material from 1925 -. [UW restricted]
  • Literature Online  
    Fully searchable library of 192 full-text literature journals, the MLA International Bibliography, and the Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL). [UW restricted]
  • Literature Resource Center  
    Full text literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms. [UW restricted]
  • Literature Criticism Online  
    This database Includes full-text excerpts from the best criticism on major literary figures and nonfiction writers of all periods, including: Classical, Middle Ages, Renaissance, Restoration, Nineteenth Century, Twentieth Century, and today. The information represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across various regions, eras and genres. [UW restricted]

Additional Resources

These databases cover a variety of subjects and thus, may be good starting points for locating more interdisciplinary information.  Because they do not focus on literature, they will not be the best tools for identifying literary criticism.

  • Academic Search Complete  
    A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. [UW restricted]
  • Academic OneFile  
    Scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas, including literature and language studies. [UW restricted]
  • Web of Science  
    Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. Covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with cited references but not abstracts. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. [UW restricted]
 

E-Journal Packages

The library subscribes to thousands of journals in print and online.  The most effective way to locate a journal is to search the UW Catalog

  • Project Muse  
    Browse or search current volumes of selected humanities journals. [UW restricted]
  • JSTOR  
    Browse or search older issues of selected humanities journals. [UW restricted]
  • Literature Compass  
    Online-only, peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the literary studies discipline. [UW restricted]
  • Directory of Open Access Journals  
    Browse open access journals devoted to literature and linguistics.
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait