Why search for background information?
Before you start looking for scholarly books and articles, you should spend some time doing a little background research. Using dictionaries, encyclopedias and biographical resources can help you to understand the major issues, themes, people, events and scope of your research topic. The following resources are particularly useful for providing context and background information in the area of Canadian Studies.
Biographical resources
Use keywords "biography" and "Canada" to find biographical resources in the UW Libraries catalog or ask a reference librarian for assistance. Some basic biographical resources are listed below.
- Canadian who's who A source of comprehensive biographical information available on leading and influential Canadians. Available in print only, in Suzzallo Reference at F1005 .C23. (Older 1997 edition available online)
- Dictionary of Canadian biography Biographies of important figures in Canadian history who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.
- Heroines.ca Brief biographies of select, notable Canadian women.
Encyclopedias & handbooks
Use the UW Libraries catalog to find directories, encyclopedias, handbooks and statistics. Use "directories" and "canada" ("encyclopedias" and "canada" etc.) as keywords. Basic resources are listed below.
- Canada E-Book
- Canadian encyclopedia Contains 20,000 articles on all aspects of Canada.
- Canadian almanac and directory Available in print only, in Suzzallo Reference at AY414 .C2.
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia Available in print only, in Odegaard Reference/SpecColl Pacific NW at F1087 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of Canada's peoples Available in print only, in Suzzallo Reference at F1006 .E66 1999
- Oxford companion to Canadian history [UW restricted]
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait