Digitized Historic Newspapers
This page includes links to UW restricted digitized historic newspapers and selected freely available digitized newspapers. To find additional freely available digitized historic newspapers see ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. Additional collections of this type of primary source can be found under the tabs for History by Region and History by Topic.
For contemporary newspaper coverage (roughly since 1990) see the News subject guide.
- African American Newspapers
- Asahi Shimbun
- British Newspapers
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle
- Burney Collection
- CBC Digital Archives
- Chicago Defender
- Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
- Chronicling America
- Early American Newspapers Series II
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Georgia Historic Newspapers
- Historic Washington Newspapers
- Latin American Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times
- New York Times
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index
- Pennsylvania Gazette
- Times of London
- Utah Digital Newspapers
- Wall Street Journal
Digitized Map Collections
Printed maps can be found in the Map Library located in the basement of Suzzallo Library. The Map Collection has original copies of pre-1960 maps as well as a collection of historical atlases. For information see their description of Historic Maps. Historic maps, as well as Krolls and Metsker atlases of the region, can also be found in Special Collections. Sanborn Fire Insurance maps for the Pacific Northwest are available on microfilm in the Microform & Newspaper Collections. Sanborn maps are available digitially via Seattle Public Library (public library card required). For links to additional digitized collections of historic maps see Images of Early Maps on the Web. The Map Library also has an extensive collection of aerial photographs of the region from 1944 to the present.
- Charts and Maps
- David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
- Early Washington Maps
- Historical Map Archive
- Kaartencollectie
- Map Collections
- Maps of Africa
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities, 1884-1922
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Florida
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of South Carolina
Digitized Collections of Images
Links to additional collections of images can be found under the tabs for History by Region and History by Topic. For more information on images see Finding and Using Digital Images.
- Ad*Access
- AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
- American Memory
- AP Images
- ARTstor
- British Cartoon Archive
- British Pathe
- Camio
- Domestic Interiors Database
- History of the American West
- Images Canada
- Images of Empire
- Images Online
- Life Photo Archive
- Moving Image Archive
- NYPL Digital Library
- Picture Australia
- Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
- Smithsonian Images
- Universal Newsreels
- UW Image Bank
- UW Libraries Digital Collections
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait