Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Children's Literature 

Recommended databases, e-journals, and web sites for researching children's literature
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/childrens  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles & e-Journals             Print Page
  

Children's Lit e-Journals

 

Browse/Search E-Journals

Browse e-journal title: 0-A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | Ja-Jn | Jo-Jz | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z

Can't find your journal? It might be available in print. Search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Catalog. Questions? Contact Us.

 
 

Searching for Articles

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. The following databases are good places to search for articles about children's literature published in both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Some databases also include references to other materials, such as books, book chapters, and dissertations.

For additional databases in related disciplines such as English literature or Comparative literature, see Articles & Research Databases.

Starting points for Children's Literature research

  • MLA International Bibliography  
    Covers some of the literature & folklore journals of interest to scholars of children's literature.
    [UW restricted]
  • Academic Search Complete  
    Indexes some literary criticism and education journals and some of the Children's/Young Adult review periodicals.
    [UW restricted]
  • Academic OneFile (Gale)  
    Trial access until 6/30/11. Indexes some literary criticism and education journals and some of the Children's/Young Adult review periodicals.
    [UW restricted]

More Databases for Children's Literature Research

  • Literature Online (LION)  
    Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 192 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Includes some articles about children's literature.
    [UW restricted]
  • Literature Resource Center  
    Full text literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms.
    [UW restricted]
  • Literature Criticism Online  
    This database Includes full-text excerpts from the best criticism on major literary figures and nonfiction writers of all periods. The information represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across various regions, eras and genres.
    [UW restricted]
  • ERIC  
    Indexes some literary criticism and education journals and some of the Children's/Young Adult review periodicals.
    [UW restricted]
  • Education Fulltext  
    Journal articles in the field of education; despite its name, the database is not entirely fulltext
    [UW restricted]
  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)  
    Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present.
    [UW restricted]
  • Library Literature & Information Science  
    Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States.
    [UW restricted]
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    Covers academic journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations in sociology, including the social function of books for children.
    [UW restricted]
 
 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait