AdvertisingAll subjectsArchitectureArt & DesignHistoryInterdisciplinaryMedicinePacific NorthwestPhotographyScience
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Image Databases & Resources 

Find high-quality images on a broad range of topics. Includes links to dozens of image databases and websites, and tips on finding and using images.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Medicine             Print Page
  

Current Medicine

  • Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy  
    Over 1,000 endoscopic images. Categories include esophagus, stomach, colon, and more.
  • AnatQuest Anatomic Images Online  
    National Library of Medicine's image collection contains high resolution cryosectional (cross-sections and/or slices) color images of the human anatomy.
  • Brain Biodiversity Bank Atlases  
    Michigan State University online atlases of the brains of humans, sheep, dolphins, and more. Search for brain images by animal category.
  • Center for Disease Control's Public Health Image Library  
    Photos, illustrations, audio/visual, and animation files. Images include titles, descriptions, and subject identifiers.
  • DermAtlas: Dermatology Image Atlas  
    Over 10,000 dermatology images. Search by term or browse by categories, diagnoses or body sites.
  • Digital Anatomist Project  
    University of Washington Structural Informatics Group's interactive atlas containing graphical and symbolic representations of human anatomy. Includes 2-D and 3-D images.
  • Genome Image Gallery  
    Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project. Search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more.
  • Harvard's Whole Brain Atlas  
    Atlas of the human brain from Harvard Medicine. Browse for a variety of images by normal brain or brain disease type.
  • Medscape Medical  
    Over 10,000 medical images. Search for images by limiting your "content type" to "images."
  • Wellcome Images  
    Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
 

Historical Medicine

  • American Social Hygiene Posters  
    University of Minnesota collection of social hygiene posters from 1910-1970. Search by year, topic, or browse by categories including family health, mental health, women, and more.
  • Gray's Anatomy from Bartleby  
    Illustrations from Henry Gray's 1918 work Anatomy of the Human Body
  • Medicine and Madison Avenue  
    Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
  • Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration  
    Images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented in manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.
  • Yale Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital Library  
    Images from the Pathology Teaching Collection, historical hospital postcards, portrait engravings, and the George E. Palade slide collection.
  • Wellcome Images  
    Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait