General History
- American Memory Project Historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
- AP Images [UW restricted] Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
- ARTStor [UW restricted] Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
- British Cartoon Archive University of Kent's collection of over 130,000 editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons. Browsable by subject, date, artist, publisher.
- British Library Images Online Historic photographs, maps and other images from the British Library; search by keyword or browse historical events and movements, both fictional and historical.
- Images Canada Historical images from Canadian archives, museums, libraries, and universities.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) Library of Congress's photographic collections, including Brady-Handy presidential portraits, daguerreotypes, Farm Security Administration photographs, National Photo Company early 20th-century photos of D.C., and more.
- LIFE photo archive Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- National Archives Online Exhibits Historical images from the National Archives' Online Exhibits. Includes 20th century photographs and photographers, workplaces of the 19th and 20th centuries, historical panoramic photography, and more. Browse by topic, time period, or search by keyword.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery Over 337,000 images digitized from primary sources and print rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including photographs on a variety of subjects and covering different time periods.
- Picture Australia Historical and contemporary images of Australia, from the National Library of Australia and other participants.
- Smithsonian Images Photographs of historic events, as well as displays, objects and artifacts in the Smithsonian collections, offered by the Smithsonian Photographic Services. Search by keyword or browse by category, including American history, the Presidency, and more.
- Yale University Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library 250,000 digitized images of photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books from the Beinecke's collections.
Regional History & Special Topics
- Calisphere University of California's gateway to primary sources. Includes thousands of historical images from California cultural institutions, including the UC libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century Images from the New York Public Library of the African American experience in the 19th century. Categories of images include Civil War, Cultural Expression, Labor, and Education.
- Duke University Library Digital Collections An extensive collection of photographs, documents, and other materials from Duke Library, with collections in African American history, advertising, women's history and many other areas.
- Harp Week - The Presidential Elections 1860-1912 Political cartoons from Harper's Weekly and other publications.
- History of the American West Over 30,000 photographs of the American West from 1860-1920, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Internet Mission Photography Archive Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, and the United States. Hosted by the University of Southern California, with contributions from the Yale Divinity School.
- Online Archive of California Historical images from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Search by keyword or browse by category, including California places, society, and technology
- TreasureNet Historical Image Collection Civil War photographs, and images from the early American West.
- UW Digital Collections Photographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
- UW Special Collections: Pictorial and Graphics Collections Photographs and graphics section encompasses a variety of research materials, including photographs, architectural plans, postcards, historical maps, artwork and ephemera, most of which are related to various aspects of the Pacific Northwest, its history, geography, arts, and industries.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait