AdvertisingAll subjectsArchitectureArt & DesignHistoryInterdisciplinaryMedicinePacific NorthwestPhotographyScience
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Image Databases & Resources 

Find high-quality images on a broad range of topics. Includes links to dozens of image databases and websites, and tips on finding and using images.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Photography             Print Page
  

General Photography

  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • Flickr Creative Commons  
    Photographs by Flickr users, offered for shared use under a Creative Commons license.
  • U.S. Government Photos and Images  
    Collections of images from government organizations, such as the Bureau of Land Management, Defense Department, Energy Department, and the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
 

Historical & Art Photography

  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • Flickr Commons  
    Public photography collections hosted by Flickr, including photographs from the Library of Congress, Oregon State University, National Media Museum, Powerhouse Museum.
  • Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC)  
    Library of Congress's photographic collections, including Brady-Handy presidential portraits, daguerreotypes, Farm Security Administration photographs, National Photo Company early 20th-century photos of D.C., and more.
  • LIFE photo archive  
    Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
  • Modern Photographers Collection  
    Work from nationally and internationally renowned photographers active in the Pacific Northwest, including Art Hupy, Ernest Kassowitz, Kyo Koike, Frank Kunishige, Mary Randlett and others. From the UW Libraries Special Collections.
  • New York Public Library "The Pageant of America" Photograph Archive  
    American photographs from the 1860s-1920s in the New York Public Library. Includes albumen, platinum and silver gelatin prints from photographers including Alexander Gardner, William Henry Jackson, Timothy O'Sullivan, Edward S. Curtis, and Man Ray.
  • Photography Now  
    Sample of contemporary and classical photography, including works by Immogen Cuningham, William Eggleston, Walker Evans, and many others. Presented as portfolios with biographical information about the photographer and a browsable set of images.
  • Photomuse  
    Collections of the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film, Rochester, and the International Center of Photography, New York.
  • William Gedney Photographs and Writings  
    Hosted by Duke University Libraries, this 50,000 item collection documents the work of photographer William Gedney, covering the 1950s to 1989 and locations in the United States, India, and Europe.
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait