General Art & Design
- Art Images for College Teaching Art and architecture images arranged by time period to parallel art history textbook organization.
- ARTStor [UW restricted] Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
- CAMIO [UW restricted] Art and design from American museums.
- New York Public Library's Arts and Literatures Digital Gallery Images of art and cultural objects from the New York Public Library, including dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, and theatre.
- UW Image Bank [UW restricted] Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
- Web Gallery of Art A database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 13,900 reproductions
- World Images Images for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.
- VADS. The online resource for visual arts Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images from institutional sources contributed for use in learning, teaching and research. Includes art, design, architecture, decorative art, fashion. UK-based.
Art & Design Special Topics
- accessCeramics Juried collection of contemporary ceramics. Curated by faculty and staff at Lewis & Clark College, Portland, OR.
- Age of King Charles V (1338-1380) Fourteenth-century illuminated manuscripts in the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, Paris
- Creating French Culture : Treasures from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France Chronological highlights of French political and cultural history in art from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, Paris
- Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts, British Library Medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts in the British Library, London.
- Domestic Interiors Database Representations of domestic interiors from the Renaissance to the 20th century, showing room layout, furnishings, architecture, and domestic design.
- Getty Research Institute Special Collections Special Collections in the Getty Research Library, including the art of David Tudor, designs by El Lissitzky, and prints after Poussin.
- IDP International Dunhuang Project More than 100,000 manuscripts, paintings and artifacts from Dunhaung and other Silk Road sites of the first millennium AD.
- Napoleonic Satires Caricatures and satires of Napoleon's rule in Europe.
Art Museum Collections
- British Museum, London Features digital images of around objects from the huge range of periods and cultures represented in the British Museum.
- Freer/Sackler Galleries, Washington, D.C. Images of objects from the Smithsonian Freer and Sackler Galleries.
- Getty Museum, Los Angeles Contains images of many of the artworks held and displayed by the Getty Museum in Los Angeles, California.
- Guggenheim Museum, New York This online collection contains selected classic works and more recent acquisitions from the Guggenheim Museum in New York.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York Provides access to images held by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, including highlights from each of the curatorial departments as well as the entire Department of European Paintings and the entire Department of American Painting and Sculpture.
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Contains images of objects from the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, Massachusetts.
- Museum of Modern Art, New York The online collection of the Museum of Modern Art includes artists and objects from the departments of Architecture and Design, Drawings, Painting and Sculpture, Prints and Illustrated Books, and Film and Media.
- National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. Contains text and/or data on all of the objects in the National Gallery's collection, and images of more than 5600 objects.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum American art, craft, and design from all regions, traditions, and cultures. Searchable and browsable by artist, work type, and subject.
- Tate Collection, Britain An online database of works in the Tate Collection, plus an illustrated glossary.
- Yale University Art Gallery Works from the Gallery, including paintings, decorative arts, arms and armor, and more. Searchable by department, classification, artist, etc.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait