AdvertisingAll subjectsArchitectureArt & DesignHistoryInterdisciplinaryMedicinePacific NorthwestPhotographyScience
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Image Databases & Resources 

Find high-quality images on a broad range of topics. Includes links to dozens of image databases and websites, and tips on finding and using images.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Interdisciplinary             Print Page
  

Interdisciplinary

  • American Memory Project  
    A multimedia website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress. More than 100 collections and 9 million individual items are available.
  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • ARTstor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of Visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • British Library Images Online  
    Provides access to millions of images from the British Library's collections, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, drawings, photographs, and paintings.
  • Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Reading Room  
    Provides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images.
  • LIFE photo archive  
    Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery  
    Primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, ephemera, and more.
  • NYPL Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online  
    Digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers, as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, held by the New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library.
  • Online Archive of California  
    Provides access to an array of historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.
  • World Digital Library  
    Cultural images from around the world, sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.
  • World Images  
    Images for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait