AdvertisingAll subjectsArchitectureArt & DesignHistoryInterdisciplinaryMedicinePacific NorthwestPhotographyScience
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Image Databases & Resources 

Find high-quality images on a broad range of topics. Includes links to dozens of image databases and websites, and tips on finding and using images.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images by Subject             Print Page
  

Interdisciplinary

Mali

Abbas, Dried Onions,
Mali, 2002. Image
source: Magnum/
ARTStor

  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Reading Room  
    Provides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images.
  • LIFE photo archive  
    Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
  • World Images  
    Images for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.
  • More interdisciplinary images...  

Art & Design

SoniaDelaunay

Sonia Delaunay,
Dancer, Second
Version
, 1916.
Albright-Knox Art
Gallery, Buffalo,
New York. Image
source: CAMIO

  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • CAMIO [UW restricted]  
    Art and design from American museums.
  • UW Image Bank [UW restricted]  
    Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
  • More art & design images...  

History

Sung

Portrait of Sung Jen-tsung, hanging scroll, 11th century. Image source: ARTStor

 

  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery  
    Over 337,000 images digitized from primary sources and print rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including photographs on a variety of subjects and covering different time periods.
  • American Memory Project  
    A multimedia website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress. More than 100 collections and 9 million individual items are available.
  • More history images...  

Pacific Northwest

FCSchoolhouse

Franklin County Schoolhouse, 1890-1898. Image source: Washington State Historical Society

Science

Hoodoos

Hoodoos in Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, Bruce Molnia, Terra Photographics. Image source: Earth Science World
  • Earth Science World  
    American Geological Institute's collection of archaeological, geological, environmental, geophysical, and other images. Also includes plants, animals, and weather and satellite images.
  • U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Digital Library  
    Collection of over 6,000 nature and wildlife photos provided by the U.s. Fish & Wildlife Service. Includes birds, plants, habitats, environmental sciences, wildlife refuges, and more.
  • More science images...  
 

Advertising

Bourjois

Xanti, Parfums Bourjois, 1945. Image source: Ad*Access
  • Ad*Access  
    Advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Digital collection at Duke University.
  • The Advertising Archives: Historical & Current Print Ads  
    A searchable collection of print and TV advertisements, magazine covers, cinema posters, comics, postcards, cigarette cards, and more.
  • Coloribus  
    Over two million contemporary ads from around the world in all mediums, including print, online, viral, television, and outdoor advertising.
  • More advertising images...  

Architecture

ExecutiveHouse

Executive House
Hotel, Chicago,
Illinois, 1960. Milton
Schwartz & Assoc.
Image Source:
Davis/UW Image
Bank.

  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • UW Image Bank [UW restricted]  
    Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
  • Cities and Buildings Database  
    Buildings and cities from throughout history and throughout the world. A collection begun by UW professor Meredith L. Clausen for use in the classroom, student study, or individual research purposes.
  • Great Buildings Collection  
    Offered in conjunction with the website for Architectural Week, this collection of images includes 3D Models and blueprints of buildings from all over the world.
  • More architecture images...  

Photography

Weegee

Wegee, A commuter
from New Jersey..,
1941. Image source:
ICP

  • ARTStor [UW restricted]  
    Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
  • AP Images [UW restricted]  
    Contemporary and historical news photographs dating back to 1826. Includes politics, sports, entertainment, current events, and other topics.
  • International Center of Photography  
    Historical photography collections from the International Center of Photography, New York, including works by Wegee, Robert Capa, and Richard Avedon.
  • More photography images...  

Maps

WorldEast

John Pinkerton, World on Mercator's Projector, East, 1812. Image source: David Rumsey

Medicine

Biochem

May H. Lesser, Biochemistry Lab, 1968. Image source: IHM
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait