Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Near East 

Covers North Africa, the Arabian Peninsula, Turkey, east from the Levant throught Iran, and Central Asia, the languages of those regions, and Islam.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/nearEast  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images             Print Page
  
 

Related Units

UW Digital Collections

 

Image Databases

  • Ancient Manuscripts from the Desert Libraries of Timbuktoo  
    Timbuktu, Mali, is the legendary city founded as a commercial center in West Africa nine hundred years ago. Dating from the 16th to the 18th centuries, the ancient manuscripts presented in this exhibition cover every aspect of human endeavor and are indicative of the high level of civilization attained by West Africans during the Middle Ages.
  • ArtStor [UW restricted]  
    Contains many images on the Middle East.
  • Life Photo Archive  
    Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google..
  • Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs  
    Part of the NYPL Digital Library. Several thousand prints and photographs contained in works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery  
    Primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, ephemera, and more.
  • UW Image Bank [UW restricted]  
    Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.
  • World Images  
    Images for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.

Near East Databases created at UW

  • Ancient Near East Photograph Collection  
    Images are of Egypt and Israel, from 3000 BCE to modern times.
  • Central Eurasian Image Database  
    Broad and representative collection of images illustrating the geography, folkways, lifestyles and architecture of the vast regions (or oblasts) of the Russian Federation and other newly independent states of the former Soviet Union. Some coverage of Central Asia
  • Cities and Buildings Database  
    Nearly 10,000 images of architecture and city views from around the world.
 

Near East Librarian

Profile ImageMary St. Germain
Contact Info:
Room 133, Suzzallo Library
206-543-9517
Send Email

Subjects:
Arabic Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Central Asian Studies

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait