Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Near East 

Covers North Africa, the Arabian Peninsula, Turkey, east from the Levant throught Iran, and Central Asia, the languages of those regions, and Islam.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/nearEast  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspapers             Print Page
  

Microforms and Newspapers Collection

 
 

Newspapers by Regional Coverage

Newspaper Databases covering the Near East

  • World News Connection [UW restricted]  
    Material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source media sources and translated into English. Includes political speeches, television programs, radio roadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books
  • Lexis-Nexis academic [UW restricted]  
    Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources
  • Access World News [UW restricted]  
    Easy to go directly to a country via a world map. Relies heavily on BBC.

Directories of Web Newspapers

  • ABYZ News Links  
    Portal to online news sources from around the world--includes mainly newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. Please note that ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources.
  • onlinenewspapers.com  
    Extensive links to newspapers from each country.
  • World-newspapers.com  
    Concentrates on English languages sources.
  • AllNewspapers.com  
    Extensive links, by country, to online newspapers, magazines, news agencies, radio stations, TV stations and media sites. Includes the local language as well as English.

News Networks

Arabic News

Persian News

  • Iranian Media  
    List of Iranian newspapers, radio and television stations, including a few outside Iran.
  • NewspaperSites.net, Iran  
    One of the longer lists of Persian newspapers and journals.
  • BBC Farsi  
  • Hamshahri  
    Major Persian newspaper published by the Municipality of Tehran.
  • Iran Daily  
    Emphasizes national and local Iranian news rather than international events.
  • Ittilaat  
    Iranian newspaper emphasizing international news. It has an English section.
  • Tehran Times  
    Directed to Iranian readers. It has an Islamic viewpoint. It reports thoroughy on political relations within the Middle East and is moderate.

Turkish News

Kazakh News

Kyrgyz News

Tajik News

Uzbek News

 

Near East Librarian

Profile ImageMary St. Germain
Contact Info:
Room 133, Suzzallo Library
206-543-9517
Send Email

Subjects:
Arabic Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Central Asian Studies

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait