How to Find the Article
If the fulltext of the article is not available directly in a database such as America History & Life, then click on the purple Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need. If there is no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.
Starting Points
There are two databases in particular that are critical for the Middle East: the Encyclopaedia of Islam and Index Islamicus.
Due to the lack of comprehensive works on the Middle East, the Encyclopaedia of Islam is generally the starting point when researching a topic. Articles in the Encyclopaedia are written by leaders in the field and provide an overview of the state of each topic. They also provide a bibliography of the core works on that topic.
Index Islamicus is the only database that focusses 100% on the Middle East. It covers some, but not all Western language journals published in the U.S. and Europe, and some books.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete [UW restricted] A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals
- Access UN [UW restricted] Current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. Only some are full text.
- Africabib.org. Bibliography of Africana periodical literature Helpful for North Africa. Index to over 415 English language journals that specialize in African studies.
- ATLA Religion Database [UW restricted] Full text databases. Use for articles on Islam, Judaism, etc. Includes citations on archaeology & antiquities, Bible, church history, human culture & society, missions & ecumenism, pastoral ministry, philosophy & ethics, religious studies, theology, world religions; coverage 1949-current.
- EIU.com [UW restricted] The database of the Economist Intelligence Unit. It includes country reports covering economic and political conditions.
- IBZ--(Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur = International bibliography of periodical literature) [UW restricted] Citation only database that covers European journals. Search terms are in French, German and English. You can locate Spanish publications here, too. It is also possible to view a list of all the issues of a specific journal and the articles contained in each.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals [UW restricted] Indexes many English language periodicals not covered by Hebrew University's more research-oriented RAMBI. Broad coverage of the Middle East.
- Index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports [UW restricted] Index to the broadcasts of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Largely politics from 1945-1989. This is one place one can find information on Central Asia.
- Index Translationum Indexes translations by source and target languages.
- International medieval bibliography [UW restricted] Citation only database indexing primarily European journals on the Middle Ages.
- JSTOR [UW restricted] Full text database covering back runs of journals usually up through three to five years before the current year.
- Literature Resources from Gale [UW restricted] Contains biographies of Arab authors. The specific works are part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 311. Arabic literary culture, 500-925. Look in our catalog for the list of authors. Also vol. 346, 20th century Arabic writers.
- MLA International Bibliography [UW restricted] Includes articles on literature, language and a little on culture for all areas/languages of the Middle East.
- MENALIB Periodical Contents The only online index to Middle Eastern vernacular periodicals in languages other than Turkish.
- PAIS International [UW restricted] Citation plus abstract, political, social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
- Rambi : Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Selective bibliography of articles of scholarly value in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel, in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. Also includes plenty of articles on Islam, the Arab world and Arab history and civilization.
- Russian humanities/social sciences index [UW restricted] Relevant for Central Asia and secondary works on Iranian studies. Citations for articles on archaeology, economics, history, law, linguistics, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, religious studies, and much more; materials published primarily in Russia and countries in Eastern Europe; 1986 to the present.
Additional Databases
These databases include information on parts of the Middle East, or are in the process of development and will gradually include more relevant information. They can be helpful, but are not a good place to start for every paper.
- African studies abstracts online Although the emphasis is not on the Arab world, there are relevant articles, both on North Africa and on Islam in the rest of Africa.
- African Writers Series [UW restricted] Again, coverage is predominantly for the non-Arab regions of Africa, but there is some coverage of North Africa. For each author there is a short biography and a small quantity of their writings in translation.
- Arts & humanities citation index [UW restricted] Will provide some citations not found in other databases. It is packaged within Web of Science and so searches result in many scientific articles
- DigiZeitschriften das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv [UW restricted] This is a full text database of German journals. It is still being built. So far it has journals on Egyptology and Coptology. It does have articles on Islam and the Middle East. Many are in German, but many are also in English. It can be searched in English as well as German.
- Electronic journals library Contents are in many European languages. The value is in the full text access to smaller or older journals scanned at the University of Regensburg.
- Feminae : medieval women and gender index Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Historical Abstracts [UW restricted] This database will pick up articles from journals not specifically on the Middle East. Recently some French and Turkish journals have been added, although the number of articles this provides is relatively small.
- Institute of Microfilmed Hebrew Manuscripts, Jewish National and University Library It is possible to order microfilm copies from this site.
- Religious and theological abstracts [UW restricted] Includes articles on Islam, but they tend to be either comparative with other religion(s) or specialized.
- World biographical information system online [UW restricted] This database does not cover all countries. So far, Turkish names are included and diacritics/Turkish letters are required in searching.
Near East Librarian |
Mary St. GermainRoom 133, Suzzallo Library
206-543-9517
Send Email
Subjects:
Arabic Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Central Asian Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait