Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

News 

This guide recommends resources for finding information in the news.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/news  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find News Articles             Print Page
  
 

Starting points for finding news articles ...

Access World News
Regional, national, and international newspapers.
LexisNexis Academic
Regional, national, and international newspapers, wire services, news transcripts, newsletters, & more.
ProQuest Newspapers
Washington State & major U.S. newspapers

 

 

Complete list of news databases ...

U.S. News Sources

Global News Sources

UW RestrictedAccess World News
Full text, 1980s to present.
Washington State, national, and internation newspapers.
UW Restricted17th-18th Burney Collection Newspapers
Full text, largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
UW RestrictedAfrican American Newspapers
Full text of seven 19th century newspapers
UW RestrictedAccess World News
Full text, 1980s to present.
Newspapers published around the world. 
UW RestrictedAlt-Press Watch
Full text, alternative and independent press sources
UW RestrictedForeign Broadcast Information Serivce (FBIS)
Index to FBIS Daily Reports, 1975 to 1996. 
UW RestrictedChicago Defender
Full text, 1905-1975.
For issues published after 1975, see Microfilm A4066.
For issues published after 1999, see UW Restricted Ethnic Newswatch.

UW Restricted Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922
Full text, 19th and 20th century newspapers.

Chronicling America
Full text, 1880-1922.  Provides information about American
newspapers published between 1690-present.
UW RestrictedLexisNexis Academic
Mostly full text, early 1980s to present.
Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, and more.
UW RestrictedEarly American Newspapers Series II
Full text, 1758-1900.
UW RestrictedLibrary Press Display
Online facsimiles of newspapers.
60-day back issue access.
3 concurrent users only.
UW RestrictedEthnic Newswatch
Full text ethnic, minority, and native publications.
UW RestrictedTimes (of London)
Full text, 1785-1985.
For issues published after 1985 see UW Restricted Access World News
UW RestrictedFactiva
Full text access to Dow Jones publications, including the Wall Street Journal.

UW RestrictedWorld News Connection
Full text, 1994 to present.
Continues FBIS.

UW RestrictedLexisNexis Academic
Mostly full text, early 1980s to present.
Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, and more.
UW Restricted World Newspaper Archive
Full text, newspapers from around the world.  Begins with Latin America,
but will expand to include African, Slavic & East European, Middle Eastern,
South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers.
UW RestrictedLibrary Press Display
Online facsimiles of newspapers. 
60-day back issue access.
3 concurrent users only.
UW RestrictedLos Angeles Times
Full text, 1881-1986.
For issues published after 1986, see UW Restricted LexisNexis and UW Restricted ProQuest Newspapers.

UW RestrictedNewsbank Retrospective
Full text, 1970-1991.
Selected coverage of issues and events in American history.

UW RestrictedNew York Times
Full text, 1851-2006. 
For issues published after 2006, see UW Restricted LexisNexis and UW Restricted ProQuest Newspapers.

Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index
1850s to present.  Some online.
For the complete index, go to Special Collections.

UW RestrictedPennsylvania Gazette
Full text, 1728-1800.

UW RestrictedProQuest Newspapers
Mostly full text, mid 1980s to present.
Washington state and major national newspapers.

UW RestrictedWall Street Journal
Full text, 1889-1992.
For issues published after 1992, see UW Restricted ProQuest Newspapers.

UW RestrictedWashington State Newsstand
Full text, 1980s to present.
Major Washington Newspapers. 
For the Seattle Times, see UW Restricted Access World News and UW Restricted LexisNexis.

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait