Start here to find film reviews
- Trade Journals on Microfilm, 1905 to the present
Movie trade journals, published from the beginnings of the silent era to the present. - American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog
National filmography for American films, AFI includes trade journal film reviews from the silent era up to 1971. - FIAF International Filmarchive Database
Includes reviews of films and television shows.
More sources for film reviews
Academic OneFile
Includes the International Index to Film Periodicals (1973+), International Index to Television Periodicals (1972+), Treasures from the Film Archives, and several other resources. Particularly good for international films.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that includes reviews published in popular magazines.
- Asian Educational Media Service
Presented by the Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, one can search for materials (including audio cassettes, CD-ROMS, and videos) on this site by region/country, media type, subject, audience, and title. The site also provides a K-12 resource list, video guides, and film reviews.
FIAF International Filmarchive Database
Indexes articles in approximately 1500 scholarly and general interest periodicals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes full text of some articles. Good for finding film reviews.- Film Review Annual
Contains reviews of full-length films released in major markets in the United States over the course of the year. Also provides listings of major film awards, nominees and winners - Film Review Index
A two volume retrospective bibliography of articles and books on selected films. Provides citations to reviews, histories and critical commentary for over 7000 films. - Index to Black Periodicals
An index of African American periodicals on many subjects, including films.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Provides access to the full text of many newspapers and magazines. Good for recent releases' reviews and industry information. Search the Entertainment Stories source material section within General News Topics.- metacritic.com
Links to full text reviews of current movie releases, videos, DVDs, music, and video games. - MRQE - Movie Review Query Engine
A movie review index with links to over 120,000 full-text reviews covering more than 17,000 films from international, national, and local newspapers, arts and entertainment journals, and other sources. In addition to the index, includes prepared lists of reviews in the following categories: recent releases in the U.S.; upcoming releases in the U.S.; top 10 at the U.S. box office; U.S. video releases for the current month; U.S. video releases from the previous month; AFI's 100 greatest American movies; most popular title (last week, previous day, past 12 hours, past 3 hours); most reviewed titles; Stanley Kubrick (1928-1999); Gene Siskel (1946-1999); the 1990s in review; 1999 in review; 1998 in review. Also includes links to related services such as the Internet movie database and online vendors.
New York Times
Full text, 1851-2003. Use the Advanced Search option and limit by Document Type, Review.- New York Times Film Reviews
Multi-volume set indexes film reviews published in the New York Times. -
Readers' Guide Retrospective (online)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print edition)
A print resource that is similar to Expanded Academic Index. Reviews may be listed under motion pictures or moving picture plays.
Video Librarian Online
An electronic supplement to the print edition (available in Suzzallo Reference, Z692.V52 V52), this site provides film reviews, the latest film news, and a searchable database of reviews and distributors.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait